Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

jimhorn23's Logbook (11 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (0)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: Texas: South Central Texas: Barton Creek Greenbelt: Seismic Wall- Maggy's Wall

Hollywood popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jimhorn23 on 2012-08-15 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Pollished Start

This route is hard to get off the ground without using the tree. Once you get past the fist 10 ft, the route is a 5.6-5.7. But with the polished start of this route, I would call the start a 5.9 for sure.

Added: 2012-10-20

Routes: North America: United States: Texas: South Central Texas: Barton Creek Greenbelt: Seismic Wall- Maggy's Wall

It's A Wiggle Butt popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jimhorn23 on 2012-08-20 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Long Route and Funish!

I love to warm up on this route with a lead and then top-rope one or two runs - it's pretty long and fairly crimpy with low harder point exposure. It is a little sketchy at the bottom 5.8+ (take your time) and then pretty easy the rest of the way except a section 2/3 the way up that I would call a 5.9 for about 8 ft.

Added: 2012-10-20

Routes: North America: United States: Texas: South Central Texas: Barton Creek Greenbelt: Seismic Wall- Maggy's Wall

Over Easy popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jimhorn23 on 2012-08-20 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun!

I like the Slabby part at the top and short undercling crack climbing. Fun route.

Added: 2012-10-20

Routes: North America: United States: Texas: South Central Texas: Barton Creek Greenbelt: Seismic Wall- Maggy's Wall

Bird Dog popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jimhorn23 on 2012-08-20 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun and Easy

Great Warmup!

Added: 2012-10-20

Routes: North America: United States: Texas: South Central Texas: Barton Creek Greenbelt: Seismic Wall- Maggy's Wall

Ice Cubes, Popcorn and Popsicles (aka Slimey Crack) popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jimhorn23 on 2012-09-10 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Weird but pretty cool!

I like this one, but a lot of my buddies don't. I find the difference in texture, slickness and angles fun and a variety. Lead it in the rain one day on a subsequent climb (middle gets much slicker with heavy humidity) and that was interesting!!!

Added: 2012-10-20

Routes: North America: United States: Texas: South Central Texas: Barton Creek Greenbelt: Seismic Wall- Maggy's Wall

Just for Fun popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jimhorn23 on 2012-10-15 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Roof is Fun!

There's not much to the route other than the overhang at the end. And I would not recomment top-roping this since the route goes almost at a 45 angle from the start.
For the roof anchor clips, There is a great tight hold up at the end inside the crack that allows for a very controlled clip.

Added: 2012-10-20

Routes: North America: United States: Texas: South Central Texas: Barton Creek Greenbelt: Seismic Wall- Maggy's Wall

Diving for Rocks popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: jimhorn23 on 2012-10-15 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Great Route!

The middle dyno area is fun and is a bit easier for taller people - a controlled stand-up grab is doable for taller people, but using a dyno move is much more fun! I am 6'1" and my climbing buddy is 5'3" - she is a strong climber, but the extra length needed to make the mid section move was much harder for her and she used a crimpy mid-hold there. After a few shots on the mid-section dino area, the top is very pumpy but pretty good holds overall. Felt great finishing it! A good endurance strength training route I think.

Added: 2012-10-20

Routes: North America: United States: Texas: South Central Texas: Barton Creek Greenbelt: Seismic Wall- Maggy's Wall

Magster popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: jimhorn23 on 2012-10-05 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun route!

Worked on the middle of this one for a while. It's a fun climb and rewarding when you get it. Upper section also fun.

Added: 2012-10-20

Routes: North America: United States: Texas: South Central Texas: Barton Creek Greenbelt: Seismic Wall- Maggy's Wall

toprope: Hoovering Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: jimhorn23 on 2012-10-02 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Tough Start

I found the start very crimpy and was slipping off a lot on the polished feet my first assent - but part of that was the ground was soaked and my feet kept getting muddy at the end of a long day. I tried it a week later and got it the first try. Very balancy first 12 ft and weird start. Recomment having a good spotter or clip the first bolt.

Added: 2012-10-20

Routes: North America: United States: Texas: South Central Texas: Barton Creek Greenbelt: Seismic Wall- Maggy's Wall

Hoover Head Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jimhorn23 on 2012-10-02 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Fun warmup

I ran it a couple times using the crack and then staying to the right of the crack. I prefer the crimpy balancy mid section over the crack but they both were decent and I think about the same ratings.

Added: 2012-10-20

> >|