Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

jrbl's Logbook (21 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (0)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: Manure Pile Buttress: Manure Pile Buttress

After 6 popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: jrbl on 2013-02-17 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars A beautiful winter climb

Had a fun day out doing this nice and easy. Partner led pitches 1,3,5; I led 2,4. Took it slow and spent a lot of time enjoying the gorgeous views of the Yosemite Valley.

Official pitch 1 is scary, so instead did 1st pitch of C.S. Concerto and then walked the ledge to traverse over. Everything scary is on the runout sections of that first pitch.

Added: 2013-02-19

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: Pat And Jack Pinnacle: Pat & Jack Pinnacle

Kiddie Corner Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: jrbl on 2013-02-16 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Pretty fun

Started some late afternoon cragging by following up this thing. Glad I didn't get suckered into leading - we didn't have a book and it turned out to be harder than it looked from the ground. But it was way fun. Very gym-like matches and balance moves.

Added: 2013-02-19

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: Pat And Jack Pinnacle: Pat & Jack Pinnacle

Suds Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: jrbl on 2013-02-16 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars casual good time

A fun way to end the day as the sun was going down. Though the belay was getting pretty cold.

Added: 2013-02-19

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: Glacier Point Apron: Apron

Chouinard Crack Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: jrbl on 2010-04-24 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Stick it in and go

getting started was hard, but once I got moving it was really a great time.

Added: 2010-06-06

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: Glacier Point Apron: Apron

Harry Daley Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: jrbl on 2010-04-24 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Lots of fun

The crack, the roof, all of it.

But cold.

Added: 2010-06-06

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: Knob Hill: Knob Hill

Sloth Wall Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jrbl on 2010-03-27 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars I want to go again

I was jetlagged a lot and don't remember the particulars of this climb, only that I had a good time. I hope if I do it again I'll remember it better.

Oh yeah. The view from the belay tree is awesome, looking out down the valley. That's pretty worthwhile. You can hear the river.

Added: 2010-06-06

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: Knob Hill: Knob Hill

Just for Starters Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: jrbl on 2010-03-27 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars I want to go again

I did this jetlagged and don't remember it very well. But I remember thinking that I was having a good time. So I want to go again.

Added: 2010-06-06

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: Knob Hill: Knob Hill

Pot Belly Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: jrbl on 2010-03-27 (View Climbing Log)

2 out of 5 stars Ugly little climb

I think it's a lot harder than the guide book promised. But then, I suck at slab climbing.

Added: 2010-06-06

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: Church Bowl: Church Bowl

Aunt Fanny's Pantry Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jrbl on 2010-04-24 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Wow, what a lot of leaves

The scrambling parts collected a lot of detritus from the previous season. I really felt like I was trailblazing.

The top was a little scary because I got to these trees and I didn't think I could rap from there. I brought up my second who told me most people belay from there, and then belayed me across the traverse (slightly runout) to where there were proper slings on the tree over to the left.

While you wait for your second, you can look out at the Valley. It's pretty rad.

Added: 2010-06-06

Routes: North America: United States: California: San Francisco Bay: Castle Rock State Park: Indian Rock

Blowing Bubbles Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: jrbl on 2010-06-06 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Arete to right is off

But the arete to the right is pretty fun, even though it's super easy.

The line of the thing goes up the middle between the perfect ladder of slopers and the big donut hole thing. It's tricky going up the slopers; you get enough leverage to pull up, and suddenly they suck. I had to move fast.

Still and all, it's a great climb for a casual day out toproping.

Added: 2010-06-06

> >|