Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

leoand23's Logbook (267 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (0)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: California: Lake Tahoe: Lovers Leap: East Wall

Preparation H Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: leoand23 on 2014-08-09 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars much better start to haystack

great route. Lead all pitches. This route most likely can be done in two pitches with a 70m rope

Added: 2014-08-10

Routes: North America: United States: California: Lake Tahoe: Lovers Leap: Hogsback

Deception popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: leoand23 on 2014-08-09 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars good warmup

It could probably be done in 2 pitches with a 70m rope.

Added: 2014-08-10

Routes: North America: United States: California: Lake Tahoe: Lovers Leap: Main Wall

Traveler Buttress popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: leoand23 on 2014-08-02 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Walk a #5 and you'll be fine

One #4,#5 is all you need to protect the ow portion. Walk the #5 as far as you can then place the #4 and it will be very well protected. The first time I tried to tr this pitch could not do it and had to stay outside on the left. I had my lead head on and three years later after that first attempt got my red point. (I'm still yet to climb P1)

Added: 2014-08-04

Routes: North America: United States: California: Lake Tahoe: Lovers Leap: Lower Buttress

surrealistic pillar direct Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: leoand23 on 2014-08-02 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Surrealistic indeed

I red point after only my second attempt. What a great P1 this was. I used 4 pieces on the wide crack with double length runners to have the rope go straight up with zero drag. The roof protects really well and once you trust your jams it's all over if you get your feet on the knob. Rest some and a few moves later it will be in the bag. It feels true to the rating.

Added: 2014-08-04

Routes: North America: United States: California: Lake Tahoe: Lovers Leap: East Wall

Scimatar Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: leoand23 on 2014-08-02 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Great route

I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of this route. I wish P1 were longer. It could probably be done in two pitches if setting the belay on the horizontal cracks past the bolts of P1. IMO Scimitar is much easier than the line.

Added: 2014-08-04

Routes: North America: United States: California: Lake Tahoe: Mayhem Cove: Mayhem Cove

Huntin' Gator Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.12b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: leoand23 on 2014-07-05 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Stout route w tricky finish

I Could not make the last moves and had to aid to clip the chains. Really fantastic route that let me wondering if something broke after the last bolt!

Added: 2014-07-07

Routes: North America: United States: California: Lake Tahoe: Mayhem Cove: Mayhem Cove

Riddler Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: leoand23 on 2014-07-07 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars My favorite route of the wall...

...Granted I only climbed car jacker, diamond, zirconia and Huntin' gator. The route had a little bit of everything and that made it awesome.

Added: 2014-07-07

Routes: North America: United States: California: Lake Tahoe: Mayhem Cove: Mayhem Cove

Cubic Zarconia Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: leoand23 on 2014-07-05 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars great complement to the neighbour route

My only complain was the sun. (wait until the afternoon to climb in this lower area). Great route. Felt a little bit easier than Diamond.

Added: 2014-07-07

Routes: North America: United States: California: Lake Tahoe: Mayhem Cove: Mayhem Cove

Diamond Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: leoand23 on 2014-07-05 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Great route

I did not expect much but was pleasantly surprised by this route. I liked it a lot. The heady part up high on the slab will make u pause for a second or two but it is well protected. It seemed harder than the route to the right.


Added: 2014-07-07

Routes: North America: United States: California: Lake Tahoe: Mayhem Cove: Mayhem Cove

Car Jacker Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: leoand23 on 2014-07-05 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Good warmup

Very close bolts at the bottom. Watch out for a couple of loose rocks marked with X.

Added: 2014-07-07

> >|