Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

leoand23's Logbook (297 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (0)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: California: Western Sierra: Needles: The Sorcerer

Don Juan Wall Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: leoand23 on 2016-09-16 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars What a hard route

Lead P1, and followed everything else clean except for the 10d where I slipped and scraped my left fingers pretty good pass the chimney.
Second pitch was the money pitch with amazing finger locks everywhere. Crux was sustained and heady but good holds are there to be found; keep moving.

Added: 2016-09-19

Routes: North America: United States: California: Western Sierra: Needles: The Sorcerer

Thin Ice popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: leoand23 on 2016-09-15 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Great route

Done in two pitches with a 70m.
Crux was definitely getting started on the chimney. I was glad I was wearing knee-pads for a solid knee/arm bar aproach. (First pitch was the best part)

Added: 2016-09-19

Routes: North America: United States: California: Western Sierra: Needles: Charlatan Needle

Spooky Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: leoand23 on 2016-09-15 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars wide part is spooky

Great way to finish the day after rapping from the Sorcerer.
Layback on the OW is sustained for 10 ft


Added: 2016-09-19

Routes: North America: United States: California: Western Sierra: Needles: Charlatan Needle

Fancy Free Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: leoand23 on 2016-09-15 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Intimidating crux

Linked P1-P2 (I led) with a 70m then moved over to finish on Spooky (Greg led).
First portion of P1 felt awkward. The crux near the top have a flared thin moves at the top. I was one move away from getting the on-sight, but ran out of stem an had to hang. Perhaps is best to climb P1 and P2 separate to conserve energy if climbing near your limit.

Added: 2016-09-19

Routes: North America: United States: California: Western Sierra: Needles: Witch

Airy Interlude popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: leoand23 on 2016-09-14 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Awesome as advertised

We did the route by (70m + 10ft simul) linking P1-P2 from Igor (I lead), and then linking P3 - P4 (Greg lead) from Airy Interlude. The traverse was fun and a little heady but not too bad the jams are very solid and there are features for your feet. Fun warmup route however, not a beginner's route.

Added: 2016-09-19

Routes: North America: United States: California: Lake Tahoe: Donner Summit: Snowshed wall.

Peter Principle Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: leoand23 on 2016-09-05 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Difficult crux

I tried on TR and placing gear to get ready for the sent. Pumped out at the crux and ran out of gas. I will have to come back for the red point.

Added: 2016-09-07

Routes: North America: United States: California: Lake Tahoe: Donner Summit: Snowshed wall.

Ariel. Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: leoand23 on 2016-09-05 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Sequency

Definitely not a 5.10 route as mentioned by some in MP. Blew the on-sight on multiple counts. Lower crux is sequency and a bit reachy for me (5'10''). There is an upper mini crux near the top. Very well protected except from the lower crux. I figure out the sequence on TR and went for the red point. Temps were a little too cold for my liking at 9am.

Added: 2016-09-07

Routes: North America: United States: California: San Francisco Bay: Mt. Saint Helena: The Bear

Swallow my pride Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.12b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: leoand23 on 2016-08-28 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars think hard technical moves

On TR felt really hard.

Added: 2016-08-29

Routes: North America: United States: California: San Francisco Bay: Mt. Saint Helena: The Bear

Kill Uncle Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.12a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: leoand23 on 2016-08-28 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars I'll be back for the red point

TRd after climbing lower arete. Tried direct start but was too much for my abiliites. Then I approached from the arete at some jugs close to the first bolt. I was sustained but fun.

Added: 2016-08-29

Routes: North America: United States: California: San Francisco Bay: Mt. Saint Helena: The Bear

Silverado Squatters Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: leoand23 on 2016-08-28 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars good route

It felt harder than the other two routes to the left

Added: 2016-08-29

> >|