Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

mwm88's Logbook (20 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (0)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: California: Central California Coast: Pinnacles National Monument: Game Show, The

Came in Second Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: mwm88 on 2014-01-07 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars short

i was surprised i was able to do it

Added: 2014-05-28

Routes: North America: United States: California: Central California Coast: Pinnacles National Monument: Machete Ridge

Redline Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating R
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: mwm88 on 2014-05-25 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Linkup to BBB

We linked this up with Lucky 13 and Alias Bandit Bench for our approach to Bill's Bad Bolts. Anthony Led.

Added: 2014-05-28

Routes: North America: United States: California: Central California Coast: Pinnacles National Monument: Flumes Formation, The

Tilted Terrace Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: mwm88 on 2014-01-16 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars easy and well protected

climbing to the first bolt was the scariest part of the climb

Added: 2014-05-27

Routes: North America: United States: California: Central California Coast: Pinnacles National Monument: Slab by Hummingbird spire

The Big Bad West Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Solo Solo ascent by: mwm88 on 2014-03-27 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Rope Solo Practice

I used this route to practice my roped solo techniques. I chose this route because of its low rating and familiarity to me.

Added: 2014-05-27

Routes: North America: United States: California: Central California Coast: Pinnacles National Monument: Machete Ridge

Bills Bad Bolts Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7 A1
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: mwm88 on 2014-05-25 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun!

We started on lucky 13 (5.9), but I aided the first 9 or 10 bolts just to make it easy. The recent rebolting is awesome. I bypassed the anchor at the top of luck 13 and linked up with the easy 5th class pitch 2 traverse of alias bandit bench(5.8) and set up the belay at the base of Redline(5.7). My partner Anthony led redline and we sat and rested in the shade at the anchor at the bottom of Bill's Bad Bolts. Looking up at the route, it was intimidating. It was moderately overhanging and the first several bolts seemed to wander aimlessly. Most of the bolts were quite terrifying. They looked to be more of rusted up rivets that seemed to flex under body weight than bolts. The third bolt seemed to be newish, but didn't seem to be well set. It wasn't until I got to about the eighth bolt that I felt secure. It looked to be a shiny, solid 1/2 incher. After about 10 or 11 bolts, I made it past the overhang and the route went for another 9 or 10 bolts up a shallow, slightly less than vertical groove. Switching to free climbing at the top of the bolt ladder and climbing the short, maybe 15 feet or so to the anchor. The next 5.5 pitch was easy, however dirty and a little crumbly. The third pitch, 5.7, was short and well protected, but it was covered in dried up lichen that provided for a very insecure feel. From the top we walked down the meadow for our descent.

Added: 2014-05-27

Routes: North America: United States: California: Central California Coast: Pinnacles National Monument: Tourist Trap, The

Thrill Hammer popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: mwm88 on 2013-09-18 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Top Rope

walked up the ledge and top roped it.

Added: 2014-03-09

Routes: North America: United States: California: Central California Coast: Pinnacles National Monument: Machete Ridge

Alias Bandit Bench Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: mwm88 on 2013-11-06 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars tricky 5.8

I started this climb on the first pitch where you move up the ramp into the corner and move up and left around the bulging arete. it was a very weird move for me. after that you move left along a grassy ledge and continue climbing up and left on the rock face to the first anchor. from there we traversed left and into the water chute and up to the base of the 4th class chimney. from there we made single, double rope rappel back down to the ground.

Added: 2013-11-07

Routes: North America: United States: California: Central California Coast: Pinnacles National Monument: Machete Ridge

Lucky 13 Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9 A1
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: mwm88 on 2013-11-06 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Fun climb, but I hate the tree.

I used this as my first practice aid climb. It's nice and vertical up to the tree, then it slabs out where you have make some long reaches and eventually just move into some easy free climbing. I later free climbed it on toprope and agree that the start may be harder than 5.9. The rock quality wasn't that bad for the Pinns.

Added: 2013-11-07

Routes: North America: United States: California: Central California Coast: Pinnacles National Monument: Tourist Trap, The

Rat Race popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: mwm88 on 2013-09-18 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars A hard 5.7

This was a great climb, but the roof was very difficult for me. It made me realize how much I need to develop my crack climbing technique. 4 inch protection is much larger than what you actually need.

Added: 2013-09-20

Routes: North America: United States: California: Central California Coast: Pinnacles National Monument: Slab by Hummingbird spire

The Big Bad West Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: mwm88 on 2013-08-13 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Short, easy climb

We warmed up on this climb. It is a very easy, low angle climb with good protection. It's only like 5 minutes from the parking lot and the rock quality is pretty good for the pinnacles.

Added: 2013-09-09

> >|