Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

mwm88's Logbook (21 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (0)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

|< < > >|

Routes: North America: United States: California: Central California Coast: Pinnacles National Monument: Slab by Hummingbird spire

The Big Bad West Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: mwm88 on 2013-08-13 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Short, easy climb

We warmed up on this climb. It is a very easy, low angle climb with good protection. It's only like 5 minutes from the parking lot and the rock quality is pretty good for the pinnacles.

Added: 2013-09-09

Routes: North America: United States: California: Central California Coast: Pinnacles National Monument: Citadel, The

Costanoan popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.4
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: mwm88 on 2013-09-08 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars A perfect day

The approach was not too bad, despite being about 90 degrees and the climbing was really easy with the crux being getting off the ground. My brother and I switched leads, I led the first and third and my brother led the second and fouth. I think I went off route on the third pitch. It ended up getting very dirty, although easy, compared to the rest of the climb and I did not find any bolts for at least the last 50 feet. I ended up on the ledge near a small manzanita, very far left of the anchor, which is why I'm assuming I was off route. We brought our friend, who had never climbed before, and he loved it.

Added: 2013-09-08

Routes: North America: United States: California: Central California Coast: Pinnacles National Monument: Elephant Rock

Regular Route Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: mwm88 on 2013-08-15 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Awesome climb

This was a super fun climb. The chimney was awesome, even though I had to climb up to actually get into it because it was too narrow at the base.

Added: 2013-09-08

Routes: North America: United States: California: Central California Coast: Pinnacles National Monument: Shepard Area, The

The Lamb Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.1
  Safety Rating X
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: mwm88 on 2013-05-17 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars good warm up

I led this easy climb at the start of our day. The rock quality is good and there is an old single star dryvin bolt protecting the crux, but it is extremely runout after that. A fall would be devastating near the top, though, unlikely because of the ease of the climb. There is only a single, but good quality bolt for an anchor with a link for rappels.

Added: 2013-05-19

Routes: North America: United States: California: Central California Coast: Pinnacles National Monument: Chockstone Dome

Regular Route Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.3
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: mwm88 on 2013-05-17 (View Climbing Log)

2 out of 5 stars a decent warm up climb

I did not find this climb all that enjoyable. The moves were easy, hence the rating, but the holds were not so easy to spot.

Added: 2013-05-19

Routes: North America: United States: California: Central California Coast: Pinnacles National Monument: Chockstone Dome

Overboard Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: mwm88 on 2013-05-17 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Overboard

My first 5.8 lead. fun climb

Added: 2013-05-17

Routes: North America: United States: California: Central California Coast: Pinnacles National Monument: Machete Ridge

Twinkle Toes Traverse Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: mwm88 on 2013-05-17 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Twinkle Toes Traverse

My brother Simon led both pitches and somehow missed the last bolt, making for a long runout in the end.

Added: 2013-05-17

Routes: North America: United States: California: Central California Coast: Pinnacles National Monument: Chockstone Dome

Walk the Plank Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: mwm88 on 2013-03-28 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Walk The Plank, 5.6

led this route. an enjoyable climb

Added: 2013-03-29

Routes: North America: United States: California: Central California Coast: Pinnacles National Monument: Machete Ridge

Corona Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: mwm88 on 2013-03-28 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Corona, 5.6

I led this and took only 6 quick draws for some reason when i needed 10. fun, easy climbing.

Added: 2013-03-29

Routes: North America: United States: California: Central California Coast: Pinnacles National Monument: Sisters, The

First Sister-Center Route Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.4
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: mwm88 on 2013-02-23 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun Warm Up

My brother and I did this in two pitches just for practice. I led the first and my brother led the second.

Added: 2013-03-20

|< < > >|