Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

oldsalt's Logbook (33 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (1)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: Tennessee: Eastern: Tennessee Wall: T-Wall North (Orange Blossom Wall)

New Beginnings Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: oldsalt on 2009-09-12 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Good climb, better fall

This is documented on a thread elsewhere on rc.com. Once I got first aid, I got back on the route and sent it as a TR. I like it.

Added: 2009-09-22

Routes: North America: United States: Alabama: Northern: Sandrock (Cherokee Rock Village): Sun Wall

Knob Wall Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: oldsalt on 2008-05-31 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Gear Lead with Critique

I lead the route and partner Jimmy seconded to critique my placements. I thought I had it zipped up, but there were holes in both the pro and my thought processes.

My cams were good, as were my slung horns. We differed a bit on what constitutes a well slung horn, but not enough drop him. Now we get to the interesting part. I found an extrusion with a nice hole in it. I thought, "This will wow Jimmy." Then I pulled curve hex and dropped the eye into the hole. I clipped a draw through the eye and confirmed that the nut was sufficiently large to hold. I did not look for any other protection at that point, so I topped out.

Over an excellent Eggplant Parmagian in Rome that evening, we haggled over the last placement. Jimmy doesn't trust small extrusions in sandstone, and now I don't either. Better than that, as we argued the point I realized with [literate vocabulary]blinding clarity[/literate vocabulary] that I had been looking for a placement whenever I decided to protect a route. Sounds logical, but I should be looking for placementS when I decide to protect a route.

It was a stunning realization, and I hope one that indicates a growing maturity on my part. Thanks, Jimmy.

Added: 2008-06-01

Routes: North America: United States: Tennessee: Eastern: Foster Falls: Rocket Slab

Gravity Boots Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: oldsalt on 2005-12-28 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Gravitas

Fun, but too short. Scene of first lead fall that I witnessed.

Added: 2008-01-11

Routes: North America: United States: Tennessee: Central: Kings Bluff: The Alley

Seismic Activity Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: oldsalt on 2007-08-07 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Solo Lead of a Challenging 5.4?

I built a base anchor with a tree on one part of an equalized cord, with a pair of opposed nuts on the other part. The low part is nice, clean, and easy. The upper (crux) area seems at least the equal of Afterburner, the 5.5 at Foster Falls.

Added: 2007-08-09

Routes: North America: United States: Tennessee: Eastern: Foster Falls: Gutbuster Area

Witchy Woman Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: oldsalt on 2007-04-21 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Continued Exhaustion

Some good moves for my limitations.

Added: 2007-04-23

Routes: North America: United States: Tennessee: Eastern: Foster Falls: Sanford Wall

The Big One Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: oldsalt on 2007-04-21 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars First attempt at an 11

Out of my league, but a real learning experience.

Added: 2007-04-23

Routes: North America: United States: Tennessee: Eastern: Foster Falls: Sanford Wall

Fish-Eyed Fool Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: oldsalt on 2007-04-21 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars A Long Day

Rested on the rope, but a large gain for my skill set.

Added: 2007-04-23

Routes: North America: United States: Alabama: Northern: Sandrock (Cherokee Rock Village): The Pinnacle

Standard Route popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: oldsalt on 2007-01-13 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars First solo trad lead

Sooth sailing using my Guardian solo lead device.

Added: 2007-01-14

Routes: North America: United States: Alabama: Northern: Sandrock (Cherokee Rock Village): Holiday Block

**Gravy Train popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: oldsalt on 2006-12-23 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Second go at it

I cruised up to the overhang and but then avoided pulling it and went right and up. I don't know what that leaves the route, but I doubt more than 5.9.

Great fun!

Added: 2007-01-01

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Western: Table Rock: East Face

The Cave Route popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: oldsalt on 2006-10-14 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

My first trad lead, if unplanned. I was busy, but not fearful - as ready to lead an easy trad route as I could hope to be.

Witnessed by: Jimmy Flanagan
Added: 2006-10-14

> >|