Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

ridgeback's Logbook (26 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (0)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: Virginia: North Western: Old Rag Mountain: The Reflector Oven

The Vegetated Crack Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: ridgeback on 2011-11-05 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Crack climbing

Hmmm...tougher than I thought it would be. Guess I need more practice crack climbing. First section - vertical smaller crack was difficult for me for some reason. It was a chilly day but when sun was on the rock, not bad. Rock is very rough and will tear your hands up if you don't tape them well!

Added: 2011-11-06

Routes: North America: United States: Nevada: Red Rock Canyon: Juniper Canyon: Cloud Tower

Crimson Chrysalis popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: ridgeback on 2011-10-27 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars A classic!!

Amazing climb, a little cool that day. Every belay was hanging, but each one bolted. One other party on route so not too crowded other than our final belay where we had 5 people sharing the belay/rappel station!

Added: 2011-11-06

Routes: North America: United States: Nevada: Red Rock Canyon: Pine Creek Canyon: Dark Shadows Area

Dark Shadows Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: ridgeback on 2011-10-25 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars 10-12 pitches!

Not sure why the remainder of this route is left out, but we did at least 4-5 more pitches. Awesome route and my first @ RR. Route finding on the descent a little tricky. Note that on the final belay, you'll need a 70m rope! We came up about 20' short of the ground so had to improvise...

Added: 2011-11-06

Routes: North America: United States: West Virginia: Roped Climbing: Seneca Rocks Region: The Panhandle: Seneca Rocks: South End

Ecstasy popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Second Second ascent by: ridgeback on 2011-09-30 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Exposure!

Awesome climb!! Lots of exposure w/ some scary traverses. A classic!

Added: 2011-10-11

Routes: North America: United States: West Virginia: Roped Climbing: Seneca Rocks Region: The Panhandle: Seneca Rocks: Lower Slabs

Discrepancy popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: ridgeback on 2011-09-29 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars top-rope and rattlesnake!

did this after learning to setup top rope anchors. setup the TR then climbed. then when we went to move the anchor to climb an adjacent route, we found the biggest f-in rattlesnake I've ever seen!!

Added: 2011-10-11

Routes: North America: United States: West Virginia: Roped Climbing: Seneca Rocks Region: The Panhandle: Seneca Rocks: South Peak - West Face

Prune popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Second Second ascent by: ridgeback on 2011-09-28 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars backwards Prune

did 2nd pitch after doing 2nd of Old Man's; went back and did 1st pitch after completing Neck Press

Added: 2011-10-11

Routes: North America: United States: West Virginia: Roped Climbing: Seneca Rocks Region: The Panhandle: Seneca Rocks: South Peak - West Face

Front C popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Second Second ascent by: ridgeback on 2011-09-28 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Front C

Started w/ first pitch of Prune then over to Front C

Added: 2011-10-11

Routes: North America: United States: West Virginia: Roped Climbing: Seneca Rocks Region: The Panhandle: Seneca Rocks: South Peak - West Face

Neck Press Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: ridgeback on 2011-09-28 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Offwidth!

Fun climb except for nasty offwidth on 2nd pitch...

Added: 2011-10-11

Routes: North America: United States: West Virginia: Roped Climbing: Seneca Rocks Region: The Panhandle: Seneca Rocks: South Peak - West Face

Old Man's Route popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Second Second ascent by: ridgeback on 2011-09-28 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Apricot->2nd pitch Old Man's

Started on Apricot then did 2nd pitch of Old Man's

Added: 2011-10-11

Routes: North America: United States: Virginia: Central: Wintergreen: Beginner Slab

Simply Frayed Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.3
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: ridgeback on 2011-09-18 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars slabby

nice easy slab climb, like other routes in this area, ratings seem a bit sandbagged though. wouldn't consider this 5.3

Added: 2011-09-19

> >|