Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

rock_fox's Logbook (32 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (13)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: California: Central California Coast: Pinnacles National Monument: Flumes Formation, The

Tilted Terrace Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: rock_fox on 2014-04-21 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Great Climb!

Well protected, simple lead climb. First pitch leads to a nice ledge with chains for rappelling. Bolts were spaced nicely, no run outs at all. A safe 5.8 lead climb.

Added: 2014-04-24

Routes: North America: United States: California: Central California Coast: Pinnacles National Monument: Citadel, The

Costanoan popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.4
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: rock_fox on 2012-05-03 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Cool Muti-pitch climb!

My dad and I decided to try out this route and it was really awesome! Very good route for a first time multi-pitch lead. My dad and I have have done multi-pitch before but this climb was a great warm up for the other awesome climbs at Pinnacles. The only part that was a little unnerving was the first pitch because between bolts 1 and 2 it's about 25 feet of climbing. If you fell after the first bolt you definitely would deck. The approach in isn't very hard either, it's easy to find the trail and well worth the hike to get to Costanoan. A recommended climb for anyone interested in multi-pitch sport climbing! I definitely will do this climb again!

Added: 2012-08-04

Routes: North America: United States: California: Central California Coast: Pinnacles National Monument: Machete Ridge

Alias Bandit Bench Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: rock_fox on 2011-06-08 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Cool Traverse

Nice little traverse not much technical climbing but a fun little climb! Cool view! I want to try the climbs above it next! Awesome rappel too!

Added: 2011-10-08

Routes: North America: United States: California: Central California Coast: Pinnacles National Monument: Flumes Formation, The

Rebecca's Sailing Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: rock_fox on 2011-06-08 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Nice and Challenging

Nice easy climb at the bottom. Gets more challenging as you go up. Also has a nice little overhang at the top, nice little crux up there. Had to stop for a second, rest a bit and then exploded to the top. Excellent and fun climb!

Added: 2011-10-08

Routes: North America: United States: California: Central California Coast: Pinnacles National Monument: Flumes Formation, The

Kibbles & Bits Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: rock_fox on 2011-04-29 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Getting better!

This climb gets better each an every time I climb it! I'm really getting the moves now and hopefully next I will be able to red point it. Nice moves on this climb and an interesting second pitch right above it. Excellent climb!

Added: 2011-04-29

Routes: North America: United States: California: Central California Coast: Pinnacles National Monument: Machete Ridge

Corona Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: rock_fox on 2011-04-29 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Smooth Climb

This climb is getting better and better! I remembered my shoes this time, and this climb was a lot better and a lot more fun! Simple lead climb for any new lead beginners! The first three bolts are really close together, the next two are little more far apart but still incredibly well spaced.

Added: 2011-04-29

Routes: North America: United States: California: Joshua Tree National Park: Lost Horse: Atlantis Wall

Taurus Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: rock_fox on 2011-03-30 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Cool Crack Climb!

This is a great climb for introducing crack climbing and crack climbing skills. Excellent climb! Tons of hand jams and foot jams towards the top of the route. Such a fun climb, I could have done it all day! I only wish it was longer!

Added: 2011-04-12

Routes: North America: United States: California: Joshua Tree National Park: Lost Horse: Atlantis Wall

Unwiped Butt Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.4
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: rock_fox on 2011-03-30 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Great Climb!

This climb was really cool! It's definitely a 5.4, simple, easy and fun! Very easy to get to the top to set up top ropes, easy to place pro too. Great beginner climb! Great warm-up climb!

Added: 2011-04-12

Routes: North America: United States: California: Joshua Tree National Park: Quail Springs: Trash Can Rock

B-1 (aka "The Trough") Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.4
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: rock_fox on 2011-03-29 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Interesting Climb

This climb is a great lead for intermediate trad climbers. It's a pretty solid two/three inch crack all the way up. I had a hard time placing most of my gear. There are a ton of 5.1 moves but the placement of protection is very difficult and in one place runout. It was a great climb though, I liked it a lot! Placing an anchor up top was pretty simple too. Great climb but just be aware of problematic protection placements.

Added: 2011-04-12

Routes: North America: United States: California: Joshua Tree National Park: Quail Springs: Trash Can Rock

Tiptoe Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: rock_fox on 2011-03-29 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Small Little Crimps

Great climb! Some cool footwork is needed on the face of the route as well as some great finger strength for the little crimps. I didn't lead it, but I would imagine it as a little bit of a sketchy lead. But it was a great route with a perfect approach.

Added: 2011-04-12

> >|