Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

rock_fox's Logbook (32 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (13)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

|< < > >|

Routes: North America: United States: California: Joshua Tree National Park: Outback: Peyote Cracks - W Face

Right Peyote Crack Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: rock_fox on 2011-03-28 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars First Top-Rope at Joshua Tree

This my first time climbing at Joshua Tree, and it was awesome! This climb has some challenging moves, but the approach to set up top ropes is an easy scramble. Setting up the anchors on top is pretty simple too. Very cool climb but the rating is a little sandbaged. But the final move over the lip at the top is fantastic! Excellent climb!

Added: 2011-04-12

Routes: North America: United States: California: San Francisco Bay: Cragmont Park: Cragmont Rock

Junior Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: rock_fox on 2011-02-11 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Tough But Fun.

This route is really fun! The part that makes it hard for me is that it's really mossy, it's easy to fall off. Great footwork technique in this climb. You really need to think outside the box.

Added: 2011-02-11

Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: rock_fox on 2011-02-11 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun 5.9!

This climb is cool, but a little slippery. Watch out because the moss can really pitch you off the rock. Lots of fancy footwork is needed to complete this route.

Added: 2011-02-11

Routes: North America: United States: California: San Francisco Bay: Cragmont Park: Cragmont Rock

Seniors Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: rock_fox on 2011-02-11 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Excellent Climb!

This climb is a ton of fun! I love climbs that are crimpy and this one certainly is. Lots of little handholds you really have to have strong fingers. Half way up the route there is a ring lock that's pretty cool. Great climb!

Added: 2011-02-11

Routes: North America: United States: California: San Francisco Bay: Cragmont Park: Cragmont Rock

Cave Route Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: rock_fox on 2011-02-11 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Awesome Climb!

This climb is challenging, but incredibly fun! I got up to the cave and went left. It was tough because of the slight overhang, I would get pulled back off the rock. But once you're over by the cave you can toe hook the bottom of it. It makes for a nice rest area to shake out you're arms and get ready for the next big moves to the end.

Added: 2011-02-11

Routes: North America: United States: California: San Francisco Bay: Cragmont Park: Cragmont Rock

Cragmont Undercling Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: rock_fox on 2011-02-11 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Cool Undercling.

Pretty simple climb. Good for beginners. It gets more fun towards the top because of the undercling. Good climb.

Added: 2011-02-11

Routes: North America: United States: California: San Francisco Bay: Castle Rock State Park: Castle Rock Falls

Lieback Corner Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: rock_fox on 2011-02-08 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Belaying From Above.

This climb is a really nice, beautiful climb. Great lieback technique in the middle. Good beginner lead climb or mock lead practice. It's always fun though to belay from the top so you don't have to scramble up the gully to get back to the parking lot.

Added: 2011-02-11

Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: rock_fox on 2011-02-08 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Great Beginner Climb.

Great climb for beginner outdoor climbers! It really gives them a great experience for climbing outdoors, also a great place to teach anchor set ups and rappelling.

Added: 2011-02-11

Routes: North America: United States: California: Central California Coast: Pinnacles National Monument: Machete Ridge

Corona Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: rock_fox on 2011-01-29 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Cool lead climb!

I forgot my climbing shoes so I led it in my approach shoes. Not bad but I don't recommend it, at least with the shoes I have. Great climb, very well protected! Cool little bulge after the fourth bolt. Nice warm-up climb!

Added: 2011-01-29

Routes: North America: United States: California: Central California Coast: Pinnacles National Monument: Machete Ridge

Lucky 13 Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: rock_fox on 2011-01-28 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Lets climb it again!

My dad led it, I followed him. It's a very fun climb, tough start but I'm starting to get it. I forgot my climbing shoes, so I climbed up in my approach shoes, not too bad. Excellent climb!

Added: 2011-01-29

|< < > >|