Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

rocloco's Logbook (53 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (0)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Central: Stone Mountain State Park: South Face - Access Routes to Tree Ledge

Father Knows Best Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating R
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: rocloco on 2016-04-02 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Would Be Spicy Lead

Top roped this one -- not sure I'd ever be down to lead. Long falls on slab scary!

Added: 2016-04-08

Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating R
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: rocloco on 2016-04-02 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Would Be Spicy Lead

Top roped this one -- not sure I'd ever be down to lead. Long falls on slab scary!

Added: 2016-04-08

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Central: Stone Mountain State Park: South Face - Routes Starting From "Tree Ledge"

Great Arch popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: rocloco on 2016-04-03 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Classic Layback

Nothing to say about the route that hasn't been said.

I led the 2nd pitch back in '06 on a road trip and came back last weekend to lead all 3. I have been climbing very little the last 6 years, no trad whatsoever, so this was a safe & easy but still exhilarating lead for my first time out in ages...it didn't disappoint.

Added: 2016-04-08

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Central: Stone Mountain State Park: South Face - Access Routes to Tree Ledge

Entrance Crack popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.4
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: rocloco on 2016-04-01 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Wider Is Wilder

I led this back in '06 on a road trip and again twice last weekend. It's exactly as advertised. If you want to have a little fun leave your 5"+ gear at home and you'll have a nice 30ft. run out to the ledge on easy climbing.

If you want to feel safe and fuzzy bring 2 or 3 pieces of at least 5" for the top section and you'll be okay. I'm 6'2" and I've got pretty long arms and it's pretty much full extension to get in far enough for a good placement with 5" gear so if you're small bring bigger gear so you don't have to go so far into the crack. The green Big Bros places well in several spots and the blue Big Bros would place in several spots also.

I gave this a G rating since you can easily protect with the right size gear if you want. Just because many climbers choose to do it without (me included) doesn't mean the route is inherently deserving of an R. It's certainly possible to seam it up from bottom to top.

Added: 2016-04-07

Routes: North America: United States: West Virginia: Roped Climbing: Seneca Rocks Region: The Panhandle: Seneca Rocks: South Peak - East Face

Orange Aid popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: rocloco on 2010-09-04 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Came Close

Came really close to falling, but got it clean after a couple desperate lunges at the crux. My feet popped once and then I just barely had gas to pull up onto the jugs under the roof. I hope the 3rd times the charm and it feels easy.

Added: 2010-09-04

Routes: North America: United States: Virginia: North Western: Elizabeth Furnace: Buzzard Rocks

Anonymous Flake popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: rocloco on 2009-10-25 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Clean Fun

Fun route. Nice and light, safe 8.

Added: 2009-10-25

Routes: North America: United States: Virginia: North Western: Elizabeth Furnace: Buzzard Rocks

Ass Cannibal Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: rocloco on 2009-10-13 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars dsds

hk

Added: 2009-10-13

Routes: North America: United States: Virginia: North Western: Elizabeth Furnace: Buzzard Rocks

Keep Off the Riff Raff - DIRECT Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: rocloco on 2009-10-13 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars f

dsds

Added: 2009-10-13

Routes: North America: United States: Virginia: North Western: Elizabeth Furnace: Buzzard Rocks

Pulp Friction popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: rocloco on 2009-10-13 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars dfd

dfd

Added: 2009-10-13

Routes: North America: United States: West Virginia: Roped Climbing: Seneca Rocks Region: The Panhandle: Seneca Rocks: South Peak - East Face

Rasp Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: rocloco on 2009-07-12 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars One Last Pitch

This route should have been graded at 5.8. I screwed up when I added the route - sorry about that. Tried to edit, but it's not showing the changes. And of course it's a sporto route not trad. So just an fyi...

Added: 2009-07-13

> >|