Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

tlannin's Logbook (15 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (0)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Western: Ship Rock: Ship Rock

Fire Point (5.9+R) Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating R
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: tlannin on 2007-09-15 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Wish I had led this one

We top-roped since the crux looked too run out and we weren't eager to take a grounder this day. We few up the route as a result and it would be nice to lead now.

Added: 2011-01-09

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Western: Crowders Mountain: Fortress Wall

Finger Crack Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: tlannin on 2007-09-15 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars I soloed this?

I have climbed this route many times and enjoy it every one. At one point in the 90s I soloed it thinking, "It's just a 5.6!" Now the new guidebook says it's a 5.8. Good thing I wore a rope the other times!

Added: 2011-01-09

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Western: Crowders Mountain: Two-Pitch Wall

Two-pitch Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.4
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: tlannin on 2009-11-15 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Interesting climb and a good intro to Crowders

Rare, multi-pitch climb for Crowders. Great exposure on second pitch, especially for the grade. Rock is always sharper near the top of routes, so bring tape--or bandages.

Added: 2011-01-09

Routes: North America: United States: Washington: North Cascades: Washington Pass: Liberty Bell

Beckey Route popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: tlannin on 2005-07-27 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Fun climb with long approach

Wish the climb had a few more pitches. Fun boulder move at the 5.7 crux near the summit.

Added: 2011-01-09

Routes: North America: United States: Washington: Central Washington: The Stuart Range: Mt. Stuart

Mt. Stuart West Ridge Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: tlannin on 2008-07-29 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Wonderful climb, messy descent

My climbing partner Gary Williams and I started from our campsite below Ingalls Lake, so it took us at least six hours to hike and then climb up to the summit notch below the last few pitches. We were lucky to have fine weather since it had been cloudy the day before. We climbed every pitch unroped until we neared the notch. Very nice exposure, next, as you cross over briefly onto the north face. Neither of us had climbed Stuart before, so finding the standard "crux" proved frustrating. After a couple of hours climbing, including a 5.9 variation to nowhere, we did a 5.6 variation that led us around a corner to the summit. Incredible 360 degree views. We chose to descend via Ulrich's Couloir rather than the Cascadian to save time. Big mistake! Ulrich's is a slippery nightmare that could result in sliding off into a nasty gully. It seemed to take forever to get down to the trail leading back up the Ingalls. Rock quality varies from horrible to fantastic, so that rates a 3. Be prepared to bivvy along the route unless you're a fast climber/descender. Be prepared to lead above 5.4 just in case you get off route.

Added: 2011-01-09

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Central: Stone Mountain State Park: South Face - Routes Starting From "Tree Ledge"

Storm in a Tea Cup Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating R
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: tlannin on 1996-10-09 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Great Name for a Great Route

Fantastic view from the first set of double bolts. You really feel surrounded by a gigantic sea of granite. Nice climbing throughout.

Added: 2011-01-09

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Central: Stone Mountain State Park: South Face - Access Routes to Tree Ledge

Father Knows Best Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: tlannin on 1997-06-11 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Harder than I expected

I've climbed many routes at Stone, and this is at least a 5.9+. Maybe it seemed harder because it was hot the day I climbed.

Added: 2011-01-09

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Central: Stone Mountain State Park: South Face - Access Routes to Tree Ledge

U Slot popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: tlannin on 1996-10-09 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Great intro to leading at Stone

I have climbed this route at least six times and enjoy the little move up and past the overhang every time. Not sustained.

Added: 2011-01-09

Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: tlannin on 1996-10-09 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Great intro to leading at Stone

I have climbed this route at least six times and enjoy the little move up and past the overhang every time. Not sustained.

Added: 2011-01-09

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Central: Stone Mountain State Park: South Face - Access Routes to Tree Ledge

Block Route popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: tlannin on 1996-10-09 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun climb--good for beginners

The crux is like a fun bouldering move.

Added: 2011-01-09

> >|