Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

wally's Logbook (18 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (0)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: Montana: Rock Climbing: Bozeman: Madison River: Neat Rock

Sunny Butterflies Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating R
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: wally on 2011-05-29 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars almost a classic

At least R, with definite potential to deck before you gain the roof crack. Climbing 20' above the bolt isn't in my headspace yet, but the underclings/crimps/crack all add up for fun climbing. A stupid and reachy sloper and poor protection detract somewhat from the experience.

Added: 2011-05-29

Routes: North America: United States: Montana: Rock Climbing: Bozeman: Madison River: Neat Rock

Steel Drivin' Man Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11b
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: wally on 2011-05-28 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars ufta

To me it feels at least two grades harder than what the local guide gives it. Stout, it was all I could do to flail up on toprope. Most of the route I was screaming, cursing, and laughing - the top 30' or so is beautifully featured. This route done by itself might be pg13. Sunny butterflies definitely spices it up.

Added: 2011-05-29

Routes: North America: United States: Montana: Rock Climbing: Bozeman: Madison River: Neat Rock

Standard Route Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: wally on 2011-05-28 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars nice

vegetated with plenty of cheatgrass, but pretty dry considering the moisture we've gotten lately

Added: 2011-05-29

Routes: North America: United States: Montana: Rock Climbing: Bozeman: Hyalite Canyon: Practice Rock

Theoretically Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: wally on 2011-05-07 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars good

it sees a lot of traffic and stuff can get a little polished. this a great climb with safe fall potential.

Added: 2011-05-07

Routes: North America: United States: Utah: Moab: Castle Valley: Castleton Tower

North Chimney popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: wally on 2009-04-22 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars super

I got my arm twisted into this, but it was very,very worth it. The route and exposure up through the chimney are awesome. I hope that bolt has been replaced, I wouldn't trust it to aid on. The rock is polished and that section is thought provoking. we climbed as two seperate parties and just shared the BD#5 at that one critical spot. I am super glad we went with someone who had been there before - the rap stations were bomber, but not completely intuitive.

Added: 2011-05-07

Routes: North America: United States: Utah: Moab: Indian Creek: South Sixshooter

South Face Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: wally on 2007-05-07 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars fun

not a whole lot of climbing for all the hiking to get there, but great scenery. The mantle is at least a 5.8 move.

Added: 2011-05-07

Routes: North America: United States: Montana: Rock Climbing: Red Lodge: East Rosebud Canyon: Tower of Innocence

Unknown Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10d
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: wally on 2010-05-05 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars quality

swapping leads worked out great, I got all the easy well protected stuff and the off width. Some of the hardest finger crack that I haven't popped out of.

Added: 2011-05-07

Routes: North America: United States: Montana: Rock Climbing: Bozeman: Gallatin Canyon: Gallatin Tower

Orange Crack Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: wally on 2011-05-07 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars p1

exciting, the first half seemed committing and a little strange.

Added: 2011-05-07

Routes: North America: United States: Montana: Rock Climbing: Bozeman: Hyalite Canyon: Practice Rock

Pinnacle Dihedral Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: wally on 2005-08-07 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars o.w.

I realized the value of BD's double axle cams when fidgeting with a cockeyed WC#6. Worth leading for the experience.

Added: 2011-05-07

Routes: North America: United States: Montana: Rock Climbing: Bozeman: Hyalite Canyon: Practice Rock

The Fiver Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: wally on 2011-05-07 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars love/hate

good one to get the jitters out.

Added: 2011-05-07

> >|