Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

evanwish's Logbook (148 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (4)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: California: Northern California: Patricks Point State Park: Wedding Rock

North Face Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating R
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: evanwish on 2014-05-21 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Repeat

I led this route again yesterday morning. The first 20 feet were soaked and slippery this time. Scary! Luckily you can get one solid piece 15 feet up if you have a small offset cam, or a .75 if you wait till after the first crux. Then my second accidentally dropped a basketball size block near the top of the 5.4 slab. I guess I missed a block when I was cleaning the route on top rope last time. Also, I'm curious if someone can weigh in on the history of this route.


Added: 2014-05-21

Routes: North America: United States: California: Northern California: Patricks Point State Park: Ceremonial Rock

The Edge Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: evanwish on 2014-05-12 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Cool arete

fun little route

Added: 2014-05-12

Routes: North America: United States: California: Northern California: Patricks Point State Park: Ceremonial Rock

Price's Crack Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: evanwish on 2014-05-12 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Need to lead this

Fun route

Added: 2014-05-12

Routes: North America: United States: California: Northern California: Patricks Point State Park: Wedding Rock

riptide Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: evanwish on 2014-05-12 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Sweet route!

Seriously sweet route. Maybe one or two 5.10 moves.

Added: 2014-05-12

Routes: North America: United States: California: Northern California: Patricks Point State Park: Wedding Rock

Clipper Ship Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: evanwish on 2014-05-12 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars ascent note

The top out is somewhat loose, but not bad.

Added: 2014-05-12

Routes: North America: United States: California: Northern California: Patricks Point State Park: Wedding Rock

Bon Voyage Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: evanwish on 2014-05-12 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Alright route

This wall is wet all winter but when it's finally dry, it's worth the climb if you have beginners with you. This would be good for practicing wide crack techniques.

Added: 2014-05-12

Routes: North America: United States: California: Northern California: Patricks Point State Park: Wedding Rock

North Face Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating R
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: evanwish on 2014-05-10 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Quality route!

There aren't many routes this tall around here, and this one is a Classic!
Now that the route is finally dry, I rapped down and removed all the teetering blocks and sharp flakes and it is far safer now with no longer the risk of your rope dislodging rocks, so now as long as the rock is dry, have at it!

As far as gear, I highly recommend small brass offset nuts and a few small offset cams for the mid section of the route. With these the run-out section is manageable. However, either way, if you fall on the crux, you will break an ankle on the slab below.

ps: I'm down to do it again, PM me if you need a partner.

Added: 2014-05-10

Routes: North America: United States: California: Northern California: Patricks Point State Park: Wedding Rock

Unknown Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: evanwish on 2014-03-27 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars What's this named??

This was a fun lead that for some reason isn't in the book.
The start was simple, maybe 5.8 or 5.9 protected with two micro cams. The crux definitely woke me up as my hands were too large for the first few hand jams. After the crux you basically walk up the wide crack ramp.

This was a worthy second climb after zig zag crack. The .10 only lasts a few moves, so it won't burn too much energy.

Added: 2014-03-27

Routes: North America: United States: California: Northern California: Moonstone: Karen Rock

Unknown, Roof Traverse Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: evanwish on 2014-03-25 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars 5.9 or 5.10a

You can change the grade by where you start. I started on the face that leads to the right side of the semi-loose block. A black alien was nice to keep gear nearby when pulling over the block.

Added: 2014-03-25

Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: evanwish on 2014-03-25 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars 5.9 or 5.10a

You can change the grade by where you start. I started on the face that leads to the right side of the semi-loose block. A black alien was nice to keep gear nearby when pulling over the block.

Added: 2014-03-25

> >|