Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

tallmark515's Logbook (81 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (9)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: California: Joshua Tree National Park: Echo Tee: Echo Rock

Pope's Crack popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating PG13
Onsight Onsight ascent by: tallmark515 on 2007-11-29 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars classic

solid 5.9 climbing, up a great hand crack with lots of good friction and face features for feet. Traverse at top felt like 5.6, no pro, but very short section. Super fun.

Added: 2007-12-03

Routes: North America: United States: California: Joshua Tree National Park: Echo Tee: Echo Cove

Flake and Bake Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating PG13
Onsight Onsight ascent by: tallmark515 on 2007-11-23 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars fun

crux is around the 2 bolts up top, delicate footwork and friction climbing.



Added: 2007-11-24

Routes: North America: United States: California: Joshua Tree National Park: Echo Tee: Echo Cove

C.S. Special Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: tallmark515 on 2007-11-23 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars crux is the start

really fun route, however I had a hard time trying to figure out the opening sequence (.10b crux). The friction climbing at the top was pretty effortless though (.8/9).

I worked out a sequence that comes in from the right using the two told hand holds and another sequence using all three handholds and starting with my right hand on the lowest.

Seems like coming in from the right was a bit easier, just remember to get those feet up.







Added: 2007-11-24

Routes: North America: United States: Nevada: Red Rock Canyon: White Rock Spring Area: Angel Food Wall

Tunnel Vision (R) popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: tallmark515 on 2007-11-18 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars fun route, 5.9 face variation on P1

Opted for the 5.9 face variation on the first pitch, pretty hard moves for 5.9.

The rest of the route was stellar, I re-led P3 cleanly (last time I fell 40 ft). The cave/tunnel was super cool. Mostly very easy climbing except p3 and the P1 variation.

I led the odd number pitches (1 & 3).


Added: 2007-11-20

Routes: North America: United States: Nevada: Red Rock Canyon: First Creek Canyon: Lotta Balls Wall

Black Magic Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: tallmark515 on 2007-11-17 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars one of the best moderates that I've climbed

Swing leads. I led p1 & 3.

Amazing exposure and super fun, moderate moves on the first pitch. 3rd pitch also lots of fun.

Bolt placement on this route made me puke a little bit in my mouth while climbing. They are placed offensively close to cracks that will gobble pro.

Added: 2007-11-20

Routes: North America: United States: California: Joshua Tree National Park: Echo Tee: Echo Cove

R.M.L. Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: tallmark515 on 2007-11-16 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars balancy moves to the first bolt

Mixed route, protect via the crack, pull the mantle then up to the face for some easier slab climbing. First (mantle) moves are 5.9, the slab feels 5.8.


Added: 2007-11-20

Routes: North America: United States: California: Joshua Tree National Park: Hidden Valley Campground: Intersection Rock

North Overhang popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: tallmark515 on 2007-11-16 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars super fun

Amazing and exposed move around the corner and up the face. Stellar climbing, well protected with 2 bolts and a bomber hand crack to hang from as you turn the corner.

Added: 2007-11-20

Routes: North America: United States: California: Joshua Tree National Park: Lost Horse: Left Hand of Darkness

Granny Goose Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: tallmark515 on 2007-11-11 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Fun little warmup

Great warm-up route, I liked the traverse. Next time I think I'll try for the direct start up the slab.

Added: 2007-11-12

Routes: North America: United States: California: Joshua Tree National Park: Lost Horse: Lost Horse Wall

Bird on a Wire Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: tallmark515 on 2007-11-11 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars led crux pitch

Scrambled up two ledges to the technical climbing just below the big black spot on the wall. My Partner led the last section of this first pitch. I led the .10a crux pitch. Crux is just above the belay; a long seam with a few small pinscar pods for fingers and sparse pro for about 10-15 ft. The rest of the route is easy but fun.

Crux didn't seem like .10a, more like .9

Oh... and don't listen to what others are saying about this being a 3 pitch route, it can easily be done in 2 with a 60m rope. Just expect to be a full rope length away from your partner once you reach the top.



Added: 2007-11-12

Routes: North America: United States: California: Joshua Tree National Park: Echo Tee: Echo Cove

Ben Dover Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: tallmark515 on 2007-11-09 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars damnit

5 more tries and no luck passing the crux section on the traverse. I can pull it off on TR no prob, but I just don't have the strength to clip and make the moves. Maybe next time I'll just skip the damn bolt. Why am I so obsessed with this damn route... I hate sport climbing!

Added: 2007-11-10

> >|