RSS FeedRSS Feeds for Gear Heads

Premier Sponsor:

cjmorelikepj

Aug 27, 2013, 8:37 PM
Post #1 of 6 (3541 views)
Shortcut

shoe help
Report this Post
Average: avg_1 avg_2 avg_3 avg_4 avg_5 (0 ratings)  
Can't Post

I am wanting to buy a new pair of shoes and need some advice.

I am currently wearing a pair of Five Ten Anasazi Moccasyms (size 10) that are too big for me (should have gotten size 9 or 9 1/2). I want my next shoe to be more aggressive and better at edging.

I have been climbing for about 5 months and am at 5.10c-5.11 level. The majority of my climbing has been top roping and bouldering at my local gym.

I have read and heard good things about the Evolv Shaman, but it seems to be geared more towards overhang climbing and for advanced climbers. Would this shoe be appropriate for someone at my level with the type of climbing I am doing? What are your shoe recommendations?

shockabuku

Aug 28, 2013, 2:04 AM
Post #2 of 6 (3501 views)
Shortcut

Re: [cjmorelikepj] shoe help [In reply to]
Report this Post
Can't Post

They'll be fine if they fit right.

brinosaur

Aug 28, 2013, 1:12 PM
Post #3 of 6 (3457 views)
Shortcut

Report this Post
Can't Post

The Shamans don't do it for me. I didn't like the fit, and the toes were too downturned for me to edge comfortably. Your mileage may vary.

I'd recommend the following as good all-around shoes --

CHEAP: Evolv Bandits (laceup or velcro). A decent, stiffer shoe. Not very aggressive, but moreso than the moccs. Very good edging and super-snug heel cup. The color sucks.

MID-RANGE: 5.10 Anasazi (laceups, white). Another good edging shoe. For me, the heel cup doesn;t fit as well as the bandits, but it's snug enough.

PRICEY: La Sportiva Miuras (laceup or velcro). Great shoes IF fit properly. Like the other shoes mentioned, but made with better materials and will likely last longer and be worth resoling. The velcro model is significantly more aggressive than the laceups.

lena_chita

Aug 28, 2013, 6:01 PM