Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Scirocco's Logbook (18 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (0)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: Texas: South Central Texas: Barton Creek Greenbelt: Kingdom of Ging

Charlie Don't surf Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10d
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: Scirocco on 2012-10-31 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars best on the wall

My favorite at the kingdom. Being tall helps at the end.

Added: 2012-11-08

Routes: North America: United States: Texas: South Central Texas: Barton Creek Greenbelt: Kingdom of Ging

Jerry's kids Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: Scirocco on 2012-10-31 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars good cruxy top

Deadpoint to right ledge and lucky to hit in the best place. I later realized a foot out right can make it a static move.


Added: 2012-11-08

Routes: North America: United States: Texas: South Central Texas: Barton Creek Greenbelt: Kingdom of Ging

Sex Dwarfs Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: Scirocco on 2012-11-08 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars crimp here crimp there

I think this goes more direct than what the guide shows. It can be climbed staying to the left of the bolts and moving close to straight up. I like crimps, and this felt like less than 11c.

Added: 2012-11-08

Routes: North America: United States: Texas: South Central Texas: Barton Creek Greenbelt: Kingdom of Ging

King of Ging Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
Red Point Red Point ascent by: Scirocco on 2012-11-07 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars it's a route.

There's a fairly wide swath that one can climb before the traverse up top. I'd put this above 10b unless going far right.
I've never felt particularly inspired by this climb - don't know why - but I like it more than gray streak.

Added: 2012-11-08

Routes: North America: United States: Texas: South Central Texas: Barton Creek Greenbelt: Gus Fruh left (Fern Bar Area)

Running Man Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.12a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: Scirocco on 2012-11-07 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars they look better than they are

The drilled pockets, that is.
After the first half, the route is pretty much over, but the first half is a fun ride through bad pocket and fair crimps up an overhung face.
The bottom is plagued by the wet clay that dirties some of the other left-side routes.
1-fall top-rope. Need to get it clean.

Added: 2012-11-08

Routes: North America: United States: Texas: South Central Texas: Barton Creek Greenbelt: Gus Fruh left (Fern Bar Area)

Reefer Madness Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: Scirocco on 2012-11-07 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars grateful for the ledge

I've really enjoyed getting on the left side of Gus Fruh lately. This climb was fun enough through the moderate climbing before the top, and I didn't find the rope drag terrible, even with short draws.
The move through the last roof is what stands out for me, and fortunately there's a nice ledge to stand on right before. After a few times going up a bit to scout, not seeing anything, and then climbing back down, I lunged for the slight bulge on the face a foot above the last bolt. It wasn't very positive but at least it wasn't polished. Shorter people may need to use a left crimp right at the lip. A tenuous mantle finished the climb.

Added: 2012-11-08

Routes: North America: United States: Texas: South Central Texas: Barton Creek Greenbelt: Beehive Wall

Dirty Rotten Whore updated popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.12a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: Scirocco on 2011-07-02 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars great climb

in the top 3 ugliest of my ascents. Even though I hung on this route more than any I can remember, I really enjoyed it.
It's sustained, and the most strenuous part was pulling above the flake below the 2nd bolt.
I'll be back when I'm in better shape.

Added: 2011-07-02

Routes: North America: United States: Texas: South Central Texas: Barton Creek Greenbelt: Beehive Wall

Suhler Route Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10d
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: Scirocco on 2011-07-02 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars cool route

This was my first climb on Beehive wall. It felt difficult for the grade near the first bolt and for a few moves up top. It was cleaner and more solid than I expected, though the second bolt is solidly in decking range.

Added: 2011-07-02

Routes: North America: United States: Texas: South Central Texas: Barton Creek Greenbelt: Kirk and Alvin's Wall

Skank hole Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: Scirocco on 2010-04-03 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars good climb if cleaned up

This was my first time at the wall and I was surprised to see other climbers on Bloody Butt to the left. I agree with the first reviewer about this being quite sandbagged by central tx standards, at least in its present condition. Even if the dust and grime were cleaned up, it would require interesting route-finding and thin crimps on sometimes overhanging rock. The beta was fun to figure out, though the first time around I was forced to traverse right more than I'd like before the anchors. There is a better sequence that goes straight up from the 'skank hole.'
I'd like to see this wall cleaned up and would definitely be back if it was. It was good to see some new climbs, and the dirt added a challenge I wasn't used to. I knocked a coconut sized foot off the climb to the right, but the rock on this one felt better, at least after the first bolt.

Added: 2010-04-04

Routes: North America: United States: Texas: South Central Texas: Barton Creek Greenbelt: Seismic Wall- Maggy's Wall

Man Hands popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: Scirocco on 2008-12-15 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars fun, sharp, tough

this one is called Man Hands. A tiny crack up top makes the crux a lot less strenuous for those without "man hands" and probably lowers the grade to mid 10's

Added: 2009-02-22

> >|