Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

karlbaba's Logbook (13 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (0)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: North Dome: South Face

Crest Jewel Direct Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: karlbaba on 2002-07-15 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

This beautiful route was part of a wonderful experience climbing the Arches then Crest Jewel Direct leading into Crest Jewel <a href="http://member.newsguy.com/~climbing/Crest_Jewel_Direct.html"><b>read the trip report.</b></a>

Added: 2002-07-15

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: North Dome: South Face

Crest Jewel Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: karlbaba on 2002-07-15 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

This beautiful route was part of a wonderful experience climbing the Arches then Crest Jewel Direct leading into Crest Jewel <a href="http://member.newsguy.com/~climbing/Crest_Jewel_Direct.html"><b>read the trip report.</b></a>

Added: 2002-07-15

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Tuolumne Meadows: Lembert Dome: Northwest Face

Cry in Time Again *** Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: karlbaba on 2002-07-02 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

This is a sweet route. Not a cakewalk, but not punishingly desparate either.

Added: 2002-07-02

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: El Capitan: Southeast Face: El Capitan

Zodiac popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: karlbaba on 2002-06-23 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

My second trip up Zodiac. First was solo in 1982 so it was a 20 year memorial ascent. Got it clean this time.

Added: 2002-06-23

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: Cathedral Rocks: Rocks: Higher Cathedral Rock: East Face

Northeast Buttress popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: karlbaba on 2002-06-18 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

This is one of my favorite routes, but then again, I like chimneys! I have done it a lot with friends and soloed it numberous times, using a rope on the harder pitches. Some folks love it, some hate it!

Added: 2002-06-18

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: Cathedral Rocks: Rocks: Middle Cathedral Rock: Northeast Face

Paradise Lost Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: karlbaba on 2002-06-12 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

I liked the route but would suggest folks stay off it unless they lead 5.10 face regularly and have plenty of trad headspace. The moves aren't hard but there are some leadouts and old bolts.

Added: 2002-06-12

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: Glacier Point Apron: Apron

Galactic HitchHiker Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: karlbaba on 2001-07-15 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

I like this route so much, this was my forth trip up it. I also did the 2nd and 3rd ascents.<a href="http://member.newsguy.com/~climbing/Galactic%20Hitchhiker.html"><b>read the trip report.</b></a>

Added: 2001-07-15

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: Cathedral Rocks: Rocks: Middle Cathedral Rock: Northeast Face

Stoner's Highway Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: karlbaba on 2001-07-05 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

This is a fine route that I have done several times. On a recent day climbing Stoner's, I took the best pictures I've even snapped in one day. See em when you <a href="http://member.newsguy.com/~climbing/Karluu.html"><b>read the trip report.</b></a>

Added: 2001-07-05

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: Rostrum: North Face

Blind Faith Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: karlbaba on 2000-09-04 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

I followed most of this route but thought it was stellar. I followed the 11D hands clean which means it ain't bad. The 11a OW is easier than generator crack. Still, this climb will beat on you if you are mortal like me.

Added: 2000-09-04

Routes: North America: United States: California: Yosemite National Park: Yosemite Valley: Rostrum: North Face

Regular North Face route Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: karlbaba on 2000-08-28 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

This is a great route. I've done it 4 or 5 times but I always fall or hang somewhere. Just Amazing. BTW to the right of the 10a layback and 11a fingers to hands there is a meat grinder-like 10c variation that traverses left to the 10a variation after 25-30 feet. At least you can get pro in it.

Added: 2000-08-28

> >|