Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Achilleus30's Logbook (149 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (11)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: Kentucky: East: Red River Gorge (Climbing): Washboard Wall

Barenjager Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10d
  Safety Rating G
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: Achilleus30 on 2015-04-05 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars No gas left in the tank for this one.

One-hung from the shuts twice on this one. Whipped from the shuts the first time, then just took at the last bolt the second time. Knew I didn't have the last 2-3 moves in me. Still a good workout/warmdown.

Added: 2015-04-06

Routes: North America: United States: Kentucky: East: Red River Gorge (Climbing): Washboard Wall

Brushfire Fairytales Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11a
  Safety Rating G
Red Point Red Point ascent by: Achilleus30 on 2015-04-05 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars C.R.G. height climbing walls.

This climb, and Barenjager are both about 35ft. tall, or the same height as the Cleveland Rock Gym, where I train. The extremely short nature of the route is probably the reason I was able to send it.

Added: 2015-04-06

Routes: North America: United States: Kentucky: East: Red River Gorge (Climbing): Washboard Wall

Heard it on NPR Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10d
  Safety Rating PG13
Red Point Red Point ascent by: Achilleus30 on 2015-04-05 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Slightly better form this time.

First burn of the day, I hangdogged my way to the top. Would've been a redpoint, but for heinous rope drag. Second burn, I belayed my buddy up to the ledge, then from there, he belayed me up to the him, and then up the second half without any rope drag. Easy redpoint when the rope drag was out of the equation.
To add a little spice to the route, my friend kicked a rock the diameter of a large saucer, off the second ledge, straight at my head where I stood on the first ledge. I was looking straight up, and I saw it immediately, and dodged it at the last second. I guess that's twice this route has almost caused me brain trauma.

Whipped off of this upside down back in 2007. I misread the route, went straight up, when the line went left. Then when I knew I was going to come off, I left my feet up high, while I reached down to grab for the rope like a total noob. Letting go with my hands first on an overhanging route started my rotation. Plus my belayer must've jumped to give me a ton of slack, and a "soft catch." The extra slack, my stupid release, and my lack of a helmet almost killed me. Watch it here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fEXoWCObLms

Added: 2015-04-06

Routes: North America: United States: Kentucky: East: Red River Gorge (Climbing): The Playground

Monkey Bars Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: Achilleus30 on 2015-04-04 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Abject Failure

I took 4 burns on 5.11b, failed to send, but came really close. Next I took 2 burns on 5.11a, failed to send.
Dropped it all the way down to 5.10a, failed to send.
Tried the 5.10b next to the 5.10a, failed to send.
Worst day of climbing on record, if based on ascents, but lots of sunshine, friends, and an awesome workout.

Added: 2015-04-06

Routes: North America: United States: Kentucky: East: Red River Gorge (Climbing): The Playground

Capture the Flag Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11b
  Safety Rating G
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: Achilleus30 on 2015-04-04 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Other team's flag is safe from me.

I laid siege to this thing on the second trip of the season, without really intending to. I ended up trying it four times. By the 3rd time, I had all the moves memorized... fourth time I had it wired. Didn't have enough juice to send it. I think I one-hung it on my best attempt. Then I was burnt for the rest of the day.

Added: 2015-04-06

Routes: North America: United States: Kentucky: East: Red River Gorge (Climbing): Solar Collector

Chickenboy Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11b
  Safety Rating G
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: Achilleus30 on 2015-03-22 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars I one or two hung this one.

Great sit down rest in the Hueco. Then it gets easier towards the chains.

Added: 2015-03-23

Routes: North America: United States: Kentucky: East: Red River Gorge (Climbing): Solar Collector

Green Horn Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11a
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: Achilleus30 on 2015-03-22 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars First Climb I got on at Solar Collector this Season

Hung the draws.
Fun climb.

Added: 2015-03-23

Routes: North America: United States: Kentucky: East: Red River Gorge (Climbing): Gold Coast

7-11 Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating PG13
Onsight Onsight ascent by: Achilleus30 on 2015-03-22 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Warm Up

Elaine got to the top of this one.

Added: 2015-03-23

Routes: North America: United States: Kentucky: East: Red River Gorge (Climbing): The Chocolate Factory

Robotic Thumb Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Flash Flash ascent by: Achilleus30 on 2015-03-21 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Feeling out What grade I'm starting at this season

Elaine tried this one, but had trouble with the start.

Added: 2015-03-23

Routes: North America: United States: Kentucky: East: Red River Gorge (Climbing): The Chocolate Factory

Augustus Gloop Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating PG13
Onsight Onsight ascent by: Achilleus30 on 2015-03-21 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Another Warmup

Elaine TR'ed this succesfully

Added: 2015-03-23

> >|