Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

ematter's Logbook (227 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (0)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: California: San Bernardino County: New Jack City: Hueco Wall

Good To Be Awake Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11b
  Safety Rating G
Red Point Red Point ascent by: ematter on 2018-03-24 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Crimpy with a crux over the hueco

I wouldn't want to fall and eat it in the hueco... belayers be mindful

Added: 2018-05-01

Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11b
  Safety Rating G
Red Point Red Point ascent by: ematter on 2018-03-24 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Crimpy with a crux over the hueco

I wouldn't want to fall and eat it in the hueco... belayers be mindful

Added: 2018-05-01

Routes: North America: United States: California: San Bernardino County: New Jack City: Hueco Wall

Gun for Hire*** Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11a
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: ematter on 2018-03-24 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Just my style

Sweet knee bar. Stiff for the grade, but most of New Jack seems to be that way.

Added: 2018-05-01

Routes: North America: United States: California: San Bernardino County: New Jack City: Raven Rocks

Descending Opinion Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11a
  Safety Rating G
Flash Flash ascent by: ematter on 2018-03-24 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun moves with lots of rests

Fun, not pumpy because of several rests

Added: 2018-05-01

Routes: North America: United States: California: San Bernardino County: New Jack City: Raven Rocks

Suddenly Susan Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11a
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: ematter on 2018-05-01 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Very fun

A few tricky spots with good breaks. I thought easier than some other new jack 11a's (which are sandbagged).

Added: 2018-05-01

Routes: North America: United States: California: San Bernardino County: New Jack City: Crossfire Crag

The Scene Is Not For Sale Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: ematter on 2018-05-01 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun climbing after a tricky start

Hard start to fun sustained jugs

Added: 2018-05-01

Routes: North America: United States: Texas: South Central Texas: Enchanted Rock State Park: The Frog

Megabyte Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.12b
  Safety Rating R
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: ematter on 2015-03-28 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Good route - a bit run out

Awesome, super technical face climbing. More powerful, sustained, and tiny hand holds than Tonka or Velvet. I guess that's why it's rated 12b. Crazy start beta to technical face that doesn't let up much. Not so sure about the bolting... Decent run out from bolt 2 to 3 (though compared to 3-4 it doesn't feel bad). Large run out from 3 to 4, though the terrain lets up somewhat. I led this once, don't intend on doing it again. It feels pretty significant, especially for the size of the boulder. Not sure you'd deck (if you have a good belayer) but don't want to find out. Besides the bolting, it s a very fun, sustained route. Once you pass the overlap it's easy climbing to the top.

Added: 2015-03-18

Routes: North America: United States: Texas: South Central Texas: Enchanted Rock State Park: Cave-In Area

Missing Link Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.12a
  Safety Rating G
Red Point Red Point ascent by: ematter on 2015-03-28 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Deserves more attention, but don't polish up the feet...

Really cool climb - kind of a 1 crux wonder of a few moves getting in/out of the crux. Nice that there is a well placed bolt at the un-protectable crux. Top crack isn't too bad once you're in it (crux ends once you're in the upper crack) upper crack section is like 5.10-. TR sent this 2nd go, then sent on lead the next time I was out. Protects well with small/medium size cams and I slotted a good nut down before the bolt. Placed two solid pieces before the moderate run out to the top. Small polished feet/smears will make this climb more difficult as time progresses. Not sure it felt 12a - kinda like shocker but easier.

Added: 2015-03-18

Routes: North America: United States: Texas: South Central Texas: Reimers Ranch: Crankenstein Wall

Short Term Memory Loss Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11c
  Safety Rating G
Red Point Red Point ascent by: ematter on 2015-03-14 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Started this from the boulder...

Well, I didn't start this from the ground but rather the wife boulder start. Climbed this on a day crank was soaking but this was fairly dry. Several people climbed it and we didn't know what it was or rated but guessed 11c (off the boulder). Will need to try a ground start, but perhaps crux is up top and didn't change the grade. A bit spacious to bolt 3 but likely wont fall. Pretty good route, but some holds are kind of pokey. Reminds me of Stranglehold but a number grade easier.

Added: 2015-03-18

Routes: North America: United States: Texas: South Central Texas: Enchanted Rock State Park: Little Dome-Kingdom of Zilch

Scrambled Egg Sandwich Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Red Point Red Point ascent by: ematter on 2015-01-25 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Sweet climb for small hands

Tight hands, so my hands fit well... Committing start off the deck. To clean this is probably best with a 2nd, but I ended up placing a lot of my gear where he wanted his hands... It can be hard getting back on route if you second and fall off.

Added: 2015-03-18

> >|