Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

gblauer's Logbook (2413 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (0)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: New York: Upstate: The Gunks: Near Trapps

Peyton Paltz Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: gblauer on 2014-09-14 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars strenuous start leads to fun climbing new

I found a small nut to protect the "r' rated start...making it a g. There was a bit of strenuosity through the underclings etc. Then my rope fed through the notch and it caused paralyzing rope drag. Couldn't clear it from above. Fortunately, Simon came along, lead up behind me and released the pieces. I was surprised how slabby Stuttlebutt was...not really mentioned in the description.

Added: 2014-09-14

Routes: North America: United States: New York: Upstate: The Gunks: Near Trapps

Scuttlebutt Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: gblauer on 2014-09-14 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Did the Peyton Paltz variation new

I was surprised at the slabbiness of the upper part of Scuttlebutt. It felt harder than a 5.4, but, I was pulling the whole cliff with me; my rope was running through the notch. Once we freed the rope, things were better. Slabby goodness to the anchors. A single ring and a biner on the tree.

Added: 2014-09-14

Routes: North America: United States: New York: Upstate: The Gunks: Near Trapps

As the Cliff Turns Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Second Second ascent by: gblauer on 2014-09-14 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Felt easy and well protected today. new

5.4 stuff leads to gear about 1/2 way up the face. Good gear through both cruxes. Moves through the upper roof felt very easy, just get your feet high and reach for the rails.

Added: 2014-09-14

Routes: North America: United States: New York: Upstate: The Gunks: Near Trapps

Day Tripper Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Second Second ascent by: gblauer on 2014-09-14 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Yikes, the roof is crazy huge new

Failed to make the moves on Day Tripper Direct. A climber needs a huge ape index to send that roof.

Added: 2014-09-14

Routes: North America: United States: New York: Upstate: The Gunks: Near Trapps

Good Friday Climb Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: gblauer on 2014-09-14 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Ran it again to clean the anchor new

BTW, there is a yellow jacket nest at the base of Good Friday. I climbed through it and none of the little critters seemed to care. It's a ground next.

Added: 2014-09-14

Routes: North America: United States: New York: Upstate: The Gunks: Near Trapps

Eastertime Too Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Red Point Red Point ascent by: gblauer on 2014-09-14 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars got tired through the crux new

placed too much gear and got tired hanging out to place it. Rest of the climb is joyful with a couple of thoughtful moves.

Added: 2014-09-14

Routes: North America: United States: New York: Upstate: The Gunks: Near Trapps

Good Friday Climb Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: gblauer on 2014-09-14 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars hard and tecnical new

crimpy, smeary feet, not great stances, worse gear. Not my style.

Added: 2014-09-14

Routes: North America: United States: New York: Upstate: The Gunks: Near Trapps

Alphonse Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Second Second ascent by: gblauer on 2014-09-14 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars so much fun new

Nice warm up. It starts as a 6 and gradually builds in difficulty. Good gear. Run it long in the corner and after the traverse to avoid paralyzing rope drag. A 70M will get you back to the ground.

Added: 2014-09-14

Routes: North America: United States: New York: Upstate: The Gunks: The Trapps

Snooky's Return popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Red Point Red Point ascent by: gblauer on 2014-09-13 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars bailed due to rain new

Thru the crux and back down. Rain started earlier than forecasted. Will be back tomorrow.

Added: 2014-09-13

Routes: North America: United States: New York: Upstate: The Gunks: The Trapps

Friends and Lovers Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Second Second ascent by: gblauer on 2014-09-13 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars two cruxes new

I warmed up on this after flying 15 hours from Hong Kong. not a great choice. I was able to find an easier way up crux 2.

Added: 2014-09-13

> >|