Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

gripster's Logbook (58 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (0)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Western: Ship Rock: Ship Rock

Hindu Kush Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Rock Quality
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: gripster on 2010-06-19 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Desperate Finish

Did the 5.8 variation. What the guy below me said is pretty much true. I didn't find any placements until I was a good 20' into the route and I placed my smallest aliens and nuts behind many hollow flakes along the way, but for the most part all though the gear is small it is solid, and the climbing is pretty easy all the way to the last move which takes excellent gear.

Added: 2010-06-24

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Western: Rumbling Bald: Cereal Buttress

Granola popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: gripster on 2010-03-06 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Onsite

If Fruit Loops is truly a 5.7, then this thing is a 5.9.

Added: 2010-03-10

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Western: Rumbling Bald: Rumbling Bald Boulders

Harder Than It Seams Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty V5
  Safety Rating G
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: gripster on 2010-01-19 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars It broke me

Broke my ankle when I fell from near the mantle. I slipped due to the heat and couldn't rechalk, but this thing would have gone for me. Soft for the grade, easier than many of the V5's at Rumbling Bald. The landing is good, and the boulder isn't that tall, but I was alone and must have landed just right (or maybe I mean just wrong?)

Added: 2010-01-25

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Western: Rumbling Bald: Cereal Buttress

Shreaded Wheat Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: gripster on 2010-01-18 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Not sustained

This is a great crack, however the crux section is only about 10' long, the rest of the crack isn't bad at all. A must do in NC.

Added: 2010-01-18

Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: gripster on 2010-01-18 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Not sustained

This is a great crack, however the crux section is only about 10' long, the rest of the crack isn't bad at all. A must do in NC.

Added: 2010-01-18

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Western: Rumbling Bald: Cereal Buttress

Fruit Loops popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: gripster on 2010-01-16 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun

Easier than it looks. Bring plenty of camming units from 0.4-0.5" for the first 20 ft, then some more smaller stuff for the top.

Added: 2010-01-18

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Western: Rumbling Bald: East Side Boulders

Poison Arete Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty V0
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: gripster on 2009-02-04 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars great!

i finally found it! Not really a trail there when I visited it. Just look at the Dorrity guidebook map and kind of bush whack towards this area from the Politician area. Great fun on both sides. Really good practice for climbing some of the flakes at the bald. Very similar style although it doesn't look it from the ground!

Added: 2010-01-04

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Western: Rumbling Bald: East Side Boulders

Squat Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty V4
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: gripster on 2010-01-04 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Stand Start

Not to bad for a V4, guide calls it V4, maybe more like V3 especially if you are tall. Sit start is hard.

Added: 2010-01-04

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Western: Rumbling Bald: East Side Boulders

Red Clouds Above Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty V3
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: gripster on 2010-01-03 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun

Fun and sequential. Some holds that appear useful may be avoided completely.

Added: 2010-01-04

Routes: North America: United States: North Carolina: Western: Rumbling Bald: East Side Boulders

Satisfaction Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty V3
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: gripster on 2010-01-03 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Awesome

Probably not rated a 3 star classic in the guide due to the rock quality. Movement is super fun though, don't miss this classic.

Added: 2010-01-04

> >|