Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

henrytwin_m's Logbook (148 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (6)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: California: Bishop and Eastern Sierra: Lone Pine Peak Area: Lone Pine Peak

North Ridge Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: henrytwin_m on 2011-08-07 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Longer than we thought

Long two days. We took our time getting started on Saturday. We didn't hit the trail until 8 am, finally getting on the ridge about noon. Make sure you bring plenty of water if you move slow. Each of us had about 1 gal and that was not enough with a planned bivy. Overall it was great fun. I felt some of the leads were up to 5.7. Maybe we were just off route. Excellent route to get someone introduced to the alpine environment.

Added: 2011-08-14

Routes: North America: United States: California: Riverside County: Tahquitz Rock: Northwest Recess

The Consolation Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: henrytwin_m on 2011-07-02 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Fun day of crack climbing

Climbed with Tom Keefer and John Loomis. I led the first pitch, followed 2 pitches of Constellation in 1 rope length finished at the 1st belay for The Consolation. I thought the second pitch of this route was harder than the crux pitch with the 2 cracks. Over all a great route, one worth going back to do again.

Added: 2011-07-03

Routes: North America: United States: California: Riverside County: Tahquitz Rock: Northwest Recess

The Long Climb popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: henrytwin_m on 2010-03-27 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars First climb in Thaquitz in 7 years

Climbed with Bill Davis and Tom Keefer.

Added: 2011-07-03

Routes: North America: United States: California: Joshua Tree National Park: Hidden Valley Campground: The Blob

Beginner's One Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.3
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: henrytwin_m on 2011-04-28 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Son's first trip to J Tree

I took my son Joshua for his first camping trip to J Tree. I did one climb that weekend, he watched from the ground. The climb went as uasual. In a few years hopefully he will be able to join me climbing.

Added: 2011-05-02

Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.3
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Solo Solo ascent by: henrytwin_m on 2006-11-10 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Solo

As I was setting up to lead Toe Jam I realized I left my belay at the top of Beginner's One. I threw the rope on my back and my shoes on my harness. I ran over the the climb and soloed the route.

Added: 2011-05-02

Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.3
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: henrytwin_m on 2006-11-10 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Ascent

Took my wife and tow other up the route. Very easy and fun climbing.

Added: 2011-05-02

Routes: North America: United States: California: Riverside County: Tahquitz Rock: West Face

Fingertrip popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: henrytwin_m on 2011-05-01 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars First topping out on this route

I have climbed the first pitch many time beofre, but never the entire route. This was my first time climbing the whole route. I led the first pitch taking the direct (5.8) lieback to the tree. My climbing partner took the second pitch and did a great job in route finding and ran the 2 pitch out into the third pitch. he setup the belay above the arch, just above it though. I ran out on the third pitch using most of the bushes as my anchors. I set up the bleay for the final ptich and Tom finshed the easy but small 5.6 thin finger crack to the top.

Added: 2011-05-02

Routes: North America: United States: California: Riverside County: Tahquitz Rock: West Face

Traitor Horn popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: henrytwin_m on 2011-05-01 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Second time climbing the route

Start the belay for the first pitch up on the rock buldge at the base. This will give enought rope for a 60m to reach the 2nd belay, running the first two pitches together. I recommend climbing over the first horn, might cause a little more rope drag, but it's easier on the second on the traverse. The horn pitch has a lot of placements for nuts.

Added: 2011-05-02

Routes: North America: United States: California: Joshua Tree National Park: Outback: Rock Hudson

Absolute Zero Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: henrytwin_m on 2010-11-27 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars enjoyably difficult

did this on TR, had a blast working through the route.

Added: 2010-12-10

Routes: North America: United States: California: Joshua Tree National Park: Real Hidden Valley: Houser Buttress

Dummy's Delight Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: henrytwin_m on 2010-11-26 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars a real dummy's route

not sure if the name has a hidden meaning, but it is one of the hardest 5.9 I have been on. The hands are great, but the feet are terrible. A great lead by my climbing partner Tom.

Added: 2010-12-10

> >|