Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

jhwnewengland's Logbook (119 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (0)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: New Hampshire: Grafton County: Rumney: Bonsai

Jugline Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: jhwnewengland on 2003-08-01 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

TR or Hangdog, not sure which, sometime last year. Go do this!

Witnessed by: ?
Added: 2003-08-01

Routes: North America: United States: Massachusetts: Greater Boston: Quincy Quarries: C-Wall (Reflector Oven)

Satisfaction Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: jhwnewengland on 2003-07-21 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

7/21/03 - FS Repeat. Took a while to figure out the thin moves below the overlap, because I really didn't want to fall.

Witnessed by: Solo
Added: 2003-07-21

Routes: North America: United States: Massachusetts: Greater Boston: Quincy Quarries: C-Wall (Reflector Oven)

Starlight Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: jhwnewengland on 2003-07-21 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Summer '02 - FS Onsight. 7/21/03 - FS Repeat. Sooo easy.

Witnessed by: Solo
Added: 2003-07-21

Routes: North America: United States: New Hampshire: Grafton County: Pickledish Hollow: Spring Morning Wall

Easy Overhang Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: jhwnewengland on 2003-06-06 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Summer '02 - TR. 6/6/03 - FS Redpoint. Not as classic as J-Crack, and not nearly as good a solo. Too short, and a wierd last move.

Added: 2003-06-06

Routes: North America: United States: New Hampshire: Grafton County: Pickledish Hollow: Spring Morning Wall

J-Crack Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: jhwnewengland on 2003-06-06 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Spring/Summer '02 - TR (several times). 6/6/03 - FS Redpoint. A great solo, because it's pretty long and airy. Loved it, and psyched to do it.

Added: 2003-06-06

Routes: North America: United States: New Hampshire: Grafton County: Rumney: New Wave Wall

Ten of Spades Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jhwnewengland on 2003-05-19 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

5/19/03 - Onsight. Fun arÍte climbing, reminiscent of Dog Biscuit at Kennel Wall. My onsight confidence is soaring!

Witnessed by: Ethan Richards
Added: 2003-05-19

Routes: North America: United States: New Hampshire: Grafton County: Rumney: Pulse Wall

Gullivers Travels Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: jhwnewengland on 2003-05-19 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

5/15/03 - FS attempt. 5/19/03 - Redpoint attempt (fell at top), Redpoint. This climb is 2 bolts, would be a boulder problem but the landing is terrible. I first tried to do this climb without a rope. I wouldn't commit to the top and Victor caught me as I jumped from the lowest point I could downclimb to. Stupid to do without scoping the top first, especially since I fell there when I did it with a rope a few days later. It's much harder making the clips! The small holds are hard to hang on with one hand. Didn't hang the draws.

Witnessed by: Ethan Richards
Added: 2003-05-19

Routes: North America: United States: New Hampshire: Grafton County: Rumney: Pulse Wall

Pulse Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: jhwnewengland on 2003-05-19 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

5/15/03 - Redpoint attempts (6 tries). 5/19/03 - Redpoint (3 tries). Took me a while to redpoint Pulse over two days. Did it with the draws hung, and it would be significantly harder for me to hang them myself. After a couple tries I had the bottom down pretty well, although the clips are still hard. The top is not too bad when you're fresh, but the crux for me was doing the top moves after some tough climbing on the bottom.

Witnessed by: Ethan Richards
Added: 2003-05-19

Routes: North America: United States: New Hampshire: Carroll County: Cathedral Ledge: Thin Air Face

Repulsion ** Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jhwnewengland on 2003-05-17 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

5/17/03 - Onsight. I took Dan and Lindsay up Repulsion, knowing that it would be a mellow day as far as climbing difficulty goes, but a challenge for the head. Some scary runouts on the two 5.8 pitches 1 and 3 made for a great lead! I found myself making 5.8 slab moves 15 feet above a TCU on the third pitch, which was by far the most challenging part of the climb. The toe crack on pitch 2 was good, although I didn't fully enjoy it - I think I was still fighting the mental game that pitch 1 played with me! The R rated climbing coupled with the stress of bringing two followers up on a climb with relatively small belay stances made for a tough, slow climb. We took 4 hours to do the four pitches! The fourth pitch was cool at the beginning when it joined the last part of the Standard Route chimney, but dirty gully climbing after that made for a forgettable pitch. There's a short but tough final 15' of climbing after the last belay if you belay where I did. I roped up to avoid pitching off the ledge in a fall, and belayed Dan and Lindsay to the top.

Witnessed by: Dan Philp, Lindsay Reither
Added: 2003-05-17

Routes: North America: United States: New Hampshire: Carroll County: Cathedral Ledge: The Upper Left Wall

Upper Refuse popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jhwnewengland on 2003-05-16 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

5/16/03 - FS Onsight. Very easy climbing, and fun. I had already done the top of the last pitch after doing Book of Solemnity the week before.

Added: 2003-05-16

> >|