Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

mstaur's Logbook (43 ascents)

Climbing Log | Hit List (0)



Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Routes: North America: United States: Oregon: Central Oregon: Meadowview Cliffs and Boulders (Known as Meadowcamp to locals)

Crescent Crack Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: mstaur on 2012-03-09 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars It Starts Easy

The beginning is a slabbed flake, but the higher you go the harder it gets. Once you are in the off-width crack you are fighting the barn door to the top. It helps if you can find some hand and foot jams, but for me they were hard to find being that I am a smaller guys.

Added: 2012-03-10

Routes: North America: United States: Oregon: Central Oregon: Meadowview Cliffs and Boulders (Known as Meadowcamp to locals)

Flaky Jake Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: mstaur on 2012-02-07 (View Climbing Log)

2 out of 5 stars After 3 Months Off

I didn't think I would be able to do this one so easily after a 3 month break. Came out with a TR solo kit and ran 4 or 5 laps on this one. First run was fun, after that the liebacks got a little boring. I'd have to say it builds up from a 5.7+ at the bottom into the 5.10a at the top.

Added: 2012-02-07

Routes: North America: United States: Oregon: Smith Rock: 15. The Monument Area and Staender Ridge: Adit Rock

Here and Never Found Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: mstaur on 2011-10-13 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Multi-fun route

Steep face, pocketed slab, short crack to a finish were you can sit and enjoy the view while cleaning the anchor. Great route. 5.8 off the ground, 5.6 once you are on the slaby section.

Added: 2011-10-14

Routes: North America: United States: Oregon: Smith Rock: 15. The Monument Area and Staender Ridge: Adit Rock

Nice Guys Finish Last Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: mstaur on 2011-10-13 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars ehh...

The first part is easy and sorta fun (5.5/5.6). The jump over the gap to get the anchors makes it not worth trying(5.9ish).

Added: 2011-10-14

Routes: North America: United States: Oregon: Smith Rock: 15. The Monument Area and Staender Ridge: Adit Rock

Lollypop League Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: mstaur on 2011-10-13 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars A Lolli For Your Effort

Some friends had this roped up when I got there and you just have to do it. It's easy fun.

Added: 2011-10-14

Routes: North America: United States: Oregon: Smith Rock: 08. West Side Crags: Christian Brothers - West Side

Am I Evil? Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: mstaur on 2011-10-02 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars No, But The "Little Indain Princess" Might Be.

I found this a little easier than "Little Indain Princess", 5.7, but I am much more used to climbing cracks than faces. A friend (A 2 day old climber) I was climbing with thought this was much harder, but he still made it. It was his first crack climb.

Added: 2011-10-07

Routes: North America: United States: Oregon: Smith Rock: 08. West Side Crags: Christian Brothers - West Side

Little Indian Princess Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: mstaur on 2011-10-02 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars I Found This Harder than "Am I Evil?" 5.8

But, maybe it's just because I am more used to climbing in cracks than on faces. The in and out bulges on this route made it interesting to climb and a thin finger crack to finish made it diverse and a little more challenging for a beginner.

Added: 2011-10-07

Routes: North America: United States: Oregon: Smith Rock: 04. The Dihedrals: Left

Bunny Face *** popular Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: mstaur on 2011-10-02 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars The Hardest Part is the Start

After you get off the ground it gets easier with another crux about 2/3 of the way to the top.

Added: 2011-10-07

Routes: North America: United States: Oregon: Smith Rock: 02. The Wooden Ships-The Gullies: West Ship River Face

The Purple Headed Warrior Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: mstaur on 2011-10-02 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars First Climb on Smith Rock

I have done a few climbs across the river, but this was my first climb on Smith Rock proper. It is a fun climb and a great beginners route. One of the guys I was climbing with was only 2 days old as a climber and he really enjoyed this route, too.

Added: 2011-10-07

Routes: North America: United States: Oregon: Southern Oregon: Rattlesnake Crags: Cloud Buttress

Shasta Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: mstaur on 2011-07-27 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars If Shasta were only so easy.

The first route my girlfriend and I did at Rattlesnake. A pretty cool route, even though I spent more time at the bottom of it than the top. The first 7' are the hardest and the rock can be a little crumbly in spots.

Added: 2011-07-27

> >|