Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: U Slot - 5.7 popular Average Rating = 3.97/5 Average Rating : 3.97/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: johnnyb336 on 2014-10-05 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Beautiful Day to Climb

Been a little while and it was such a nice day. Took the line above the arete and hit the slab as quickly as possible. Didn't bother much with pro, used two .75 C4s for the entire stretch. More could be used if you feel the need. Always a good little warmup.

Added: 2014-10-05

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: johnnyb336 on 2013-11-30 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Casual Climb

I just wanted to introduce a friend's son to climbing at Stone and we climbed this first. I chose the unnamed line to the left of U-Slot and climbed straight up through the v- notch in the overlap. He climbed without any difficulty other than being a little short for the move up through the notch. Nice to be back at Stone.

Added: 2013-12-01

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: johnnyb336 on 2013-08-24 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars More Practice

I hate having to list this route under U Slot but it is not listed as a route anywhere, even though it has its own line. It is between the Block Route and U Slot and heads up to the overlap at the v shaped notch and on up to the tree ledge. The only protection is a placement at the midpoint and again at the overlap. Other than the fact that it is quite easy, I recommend giving it a try. The move through the v-notch is much easier than it looks.

Added: 2013-08-24

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: johnnyb336 on 2013-08-24 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Practice

We are practicing for something that is coming up and this is one of six single pitch climbs I lead today. I took the standard line on top of the arete and climbed through the overlap directly to the belay rings above. I used a single cam near the top of the arete and one just under the overlap and ran out the rest. From the top of the arete to the overlap, I only use the slab. I do not move left into the shallow crack as that makes it too easy. This is another excellent beginner route.

Added: 2013-08-24

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: johnnyb336 on 2013-01-06 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Nothing New

Again, I took the line to the the ledge that is located between the Block Route and the true line for U-Slot. I just aim for the v shaped notch in the overlap and blast through it. There is a good spot to place a cam about halfway up and I usually place another cam or two before making the move up through the v-notch but there isn't really anything else for pro. I would recommend going this way for those tired of the regular lines to the left and right.

Added: 2013-05-16

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: johnnyb336 on 2012-02-26 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Back Again

I again took the line between the Block Route and U-Slot, up through the notch in the headwall. It was my mother's 57th birthday and the day's climb was her present. We climbed the Arch once on the tree ledge.

Added: 2012-03-26

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: johnnyb336 on 2012-02-12 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Took Alternate Line

I started on the slab directly between U-Slot and the Block Route, up through some nice cam placements in flakes. The line goes directly up into a notch in the headwall. I placed a few cams underneath the notch and climbed up over the headwall to a nice belay stance on the tree ledge. The move through the notch is of equal difficulty to the block move, which is not very difficult. This line can be climbed without ever touching the Block Route or U-Slot and is much more interesting than the actual line on U-Slot.

Added: 2012-03-26

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: jsaunders on 2011-12-11 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars No Comment

followed in tennies. gets easier each time

Added: 2011-12-11

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: jsaunders on 2011-12-10 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars much better the 2nd time

Enjoyed it again

Added: 2011-12-11

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jsaunders on 2011-12-04 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars onsight

Very fun

Added: 2011-12-04

> >|

Record your own Ascent