Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Mystery of the Desert - 5.9 Average Rating = 3.83/5 Average Rating : 3.83/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dowww on 2012-11-06 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Mystery of the Desert

With Larry from Los Alamos. My second Cochise climb after Absinthe. Led all the pitches. I liked this route more than Absinthe. Combined the 4th-6th pitches (as laid out here) with a 70m and extending my pro, watch for rope drag though. Did the new 7th pitch. It is much more challenging than the rest of the route. Not sure how many folks have led this yet, including the FA (bolted on rap), but it is a bit harder than 5.9. Worth doing for sure.

Added: 2012-11-10

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: bkboyd on 2012-02-18 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars varied route

I placed gear from 0.3 to old-style 3.5 camalot, and maybe a stopper or two.

Added: 2012-03-01

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: lucander on 2010-12-28 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Mystery of the Desert

Thought that no one really did this route, but there was a crowd at the base when we returned. First pitch is a lot of fun, and the crux fourth pitch is a blast - much more difficult than it looks.

Added: 2011-03-01

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: grippedclimer on 2006-12-11 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Ok route

This route is ok. Can be done in two long pitches I think if you run it out - we did it in 3. The roof is pretty cool, good gear the whole way.

Added: 2007-01-05

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: azrockclimber on 2007-01-03 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars nice

I usually hit the inevitable awaits you( .10a, .10b?) and then rap back down on the other side of "the wedge" and finish the climb. much cooler...

Added: 2007-01-03

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: aerili on 2006-12-03 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Cochise is beautiful as usual

Route requires lots of varied climbing technique. I seconded with the exception of leading the interesting little OW section that goes up and over the crack between the wall and a large boulder--it looks like you can squeeze through the bottom instead but it's not really large enough. If you climb as far as you can with your rope, this route can easily be done in less than 4 pitches.

Added: 2006-12-04

Ratings
  Difficulty
Flash Flash ascent by: organika on 2005-12-16 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

vey fun..my first climb at the cheese...we did it in four pitches..

Added: 2005-12-16

Ratings
  Difficulty
Flash Flash ascent by: lou on 2005-11-12 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Nice route...shady..start is R potentail...best to use the first two or three bolts on the route to the right..then hit the crack.... top out and enjoy a little oasis of pines in a huge bathtub....walk down and right and check out the window...great place to hang.... do it...

Added: 2005-11-12

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: mandrake on 2005-11-12 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

We did it in four pitches, pretty much as outlined in the Kerry topo (except my partner led the ramp to the left of the veg and the 1st half of the 5.9 "last" pitch as one pitch). All shaded if you start in the am. Worthwhile.

Added: 2005-11-12

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: xclimber on 2003-07-26 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

No comment

Witnessed by: Geir Hundal, Chawn Harlow
Added: 2003-07-26

> >|

Record your own Ascent