Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Kor-Ingalls - 5.9 popular Average Rating = 4.59/5 Average Rating : 4.59/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: Zerxyx on 2012-11-01 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars kor ingalls

kor ingalls

Added: 2013-03-01

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: barwatt on 2000-09-25 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars My first tower climb

Don't really remember it being too hard as suggested below, except for the final pitch where I was thrashing around trying to get to the summit (5.7!) so maybe it was kind of hard.

Added: 2012-09-25

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: JDSmith on 2011-05-18 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Gorgeous tower

This was my second desert tower. Amazing setting with aggressive climbing. My feet slipped a couple times on the marble-like surface. Unless you're going to take pictures, I'd leave backpacks at the base. The approach is a bear.

Added: 2011-05-25

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: critterdude542 on 2010-11-01 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars KI

Sandstone Sandbag, don't care what anyone says. Be prepared to grovel grovel grovel! calcite blows. Its a great climb, but i feel like i should want to climb the 50 classics again and again. I won't do this route again, not that its bad, to me it's just not worth a repeat. placed a #4 on most every pitch so i dont know why some people say not to bring it.

Also, the first bolt on P3 is useless. There is PERFECT gear a foot above it. the next 2 are nice to have though.
I lead 1 and 3
Overall I wouldn't call it PG13, maybe just PG

Added: 2010-11-01

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: ShawnIsBetter on 2010-10-21 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Finally

The first pitch is the hardest 5.6 I've ever done in my life. Because of all the calcite it's like trying to climb out of a glass jar. Way strenuous. The second pitch is not so bad but don't take the line on the far left, the one with the bolt, like I did. Third pitch crux really wasn't that bad once I rested on the bolt and worked out the face climbing/stemming sequence in my head. Only two or three hard moves get you to calcite jugs. Not super hard but felt more like 5.10a/b then 5.9. On the next squeeze section go left side in and don't go too deep in the crack, it gets tight. Fourth pitch is the best pitch, straight forward climbing, short though. Rap the north face, you'll see 4 bolts and some chains. It's pretty scary cause there's so much air below you. At the bottom of the second rappel you have to swing over to the right to get to the ledge and anchors. It's kinda scary.

I hate calcite, shoes don't stick so it's kinda like climbing with roller skates on.

Overall it's not really fun climbing, more of a grunt fest, but it's well worth the blood and sweat.

Added: 2010-10-24

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jnrose5 on 2010-05-07 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars First Desert Tower

Awesome climb, with every pitch having its own difficulties. The third crux pitch is an absolute beast - I would love to see someone really climb it cleanly, as it was a complete grovel-fest for us. The moves on the last pitch were the best of the route.

Added: 2010-05-08

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: kprond on 2010-05-04 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars good times

Left late and still had to wait in line. Lots of people on a Tuesday. Rapped off and got to the base right at sunset. Stashed our packs for fine Jade the next day.

Added: 2010-05-06

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: lucander on 2010-03-29 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Kor-Ingalls

With jrathfon, I led p. 1 & 3. Third pitch felt pretty damn hard, I almost fell out of it. Be careful rapping the route with a single rope because it jacks up a busy route, you're best served climbing with doubles and rapping N. Face.

Added: 2010-04-05

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: twdirty on 2009-10-14 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars .

.

Added: 2009-10-19

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: justroberto on 2009-04-30 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars -

-

Added: 2009-05-03

> >|

Record your own Ascent