Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Nova express - 5.9 popular Average Rating = 4.38/5 Average Rating : 4.38/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: csproul on 2014-07-16 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars stellar route

a bit of everything; face, fingers, hands, wide. Didn't quite get it on the OS attempt, so I TRed it after. Was definitely missing the good hold(s) after the crux so I had grabbed a piece of gear to clip it. On the TR I found it all and realized that it is just a short section of well-protected stress and then you get good rests.

Added: 2014-07-16

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Red Point Red Point ascent by: aerili on 2010-09-29 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars woo

This route had a psychological hold over me since leading it while ultra-exhausted 1 year ago (the hold of fear due to its sustained quality and the difficulty I had with the footwork through the 2 wide pods). Finally made the time to go back and put it down in 1 go. :)

Added: 2010-09-30

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: farmlivingisthelifeforme on 2008-08-03 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun Crux

Placed an anchor right below crux with a #2 + #3 BD then fired through. Super fun

Added: 2009-09-03

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: eazyclimb on 2003-08-08 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Nova

I've done this route a lot, I once saw a kid fall 45' and almost deck. The pro can be kind of rattly through the crux section putting in an extra piece would not be a bad thing.

Added: 2008-09-30

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
Second Second ascent by: Rockjunkie15 on 2008-07-03 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Good route, very fun

This was a great route that used a few different techniques.

Added: 2008-07-03

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating PG13
Onsight Onsight ascent by: CaptainPolution on 2008-07-03 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars fun

wide is nice

Added: 2008-07-03

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating X
Solo Solo ascent by: graniteboy on 2007-07-10 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Solo

Soloed many times over the years. Pay attention to the slick jam just off the ledge....


Added: 2007-11-28

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: radioface on 2007-09-21 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars cool one

this is nothing compared to reeds direct, but it is still really fun. splitter for the most part with good jams

Added: 2007-09-21

Ratings
  Difficulty
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: pierredestcroix on 2006-08-13 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

No comment

Added: 2006-08-13

Ratings
  Difficulty
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: crackrn on 2006-07-29 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

My ankle will never be the same after having 2 mm shaved off the inside of this route! I definitely struggled on the wider sections. Still, had a good time!

Witnessed by: crackmd, Bill Povolny
Added: 2006-07-29

> >|

Record your own Ascent