Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Block Route - 5.8 popular Average Rating = 3.95/5 Average Rating : 3.95/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: johnnyb336 on 2013-11-30 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Same As Usual

Nothing to really say. I brought along a friend's son for his first time at Stone and started him on the easy stuff. Even in approach shoes, this is a very easy climb. Nice to be back though.

Added: 2013-12-01

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: johnnyb336 on 2013-08-24 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Practice

We are practicing for something that is coming up and this is one of six single pitch climbs I lead today. In reality, you can just about walk up this route. I place a draw in one of the belay rings and a single cam at the Block move but no other protection. I do highly recommend this climb for beginners. It was hot and humid but still a fun day.

Added: 2013-08-24

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: MonkeySpank on 2012-10-21 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Great Fall Day at Stone

Clear, sunny skies, no wind, 50s, Fall colors

Added: 2012-10-21

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: chotoken on 2012-10-19 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Great Day

I have climbed this route several times. This was my first time leading it. I like this route, but the second pitch is run out a bit until your first piece. It is an easy section, but if you blow it, it would suck. That's why I give this route a PG13.

Added: 2012-10-20

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: johnnyb336 on 2012-05-12 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Needed Quick Access to Tree Ledge

This is one of the easier routes at Stone and really needs very little protection. I did clip a draw to the belay rings at the small pine and placed two small cams under the block to protect the move to the slab above. I have climbed this route dozens of times and I still enjoy the Block move.

I'm not really sure I am listing my ascents correctly. I was always under the impression that an on-sight or flash could only be done the first time climbing a route and that all duplicate ascents would be redpoints.

Added: 2012-05-13

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: swoopee on 2012-04-11 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Fun Route

I've probably led this one a dozen times over the years and it never gets old. The best way to get to the tree ledge.

Added: 2012-04-12

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: jsaunders on 2012-03-10 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars No Comment

No Comment

Added: 2012-03-11

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: MonkeySpank on 2012-03-04 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Cold and windy day

Introduced a friend to multipitch trad on this route.

Added: 2012-03-05

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: GeoffUnderwood on 2012-01-15 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Block Route

took the kids out and we had fun. First pitch: to tree. Decent pro down low with sideways medium stoppers, then small cams to tree.

Added: 2012-02-24

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: jsaunders on 2012-01-28 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars again

only dry one this morning

Added: 2012-01-30

> >|

Record your own Ascent