Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Great White Way - 5.9 popular Average Rating = 4.85/5 Average Rating : 4.85/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: johnnyb336 on 2013-09-14 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars As Good As Ever

Immediately after climbing Autumn Speaks, we rapped down to the tree ledge and I led all three pitches. I like the texture of the rock in this area, it really provides excellent grip. As we normally do, I went ahead and combined the top two pitches. It is a quick route. It only took about 30 minutes for us both to top-out at a normal pace for a couple of fat boys. This route should be on everyone's Stone Mtn to-do list.

Added: 2013-09-15

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: johnnyb336 on 2013-05-25 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Starting To Get Hot

The heat is beginning to make the climbing a little more difficult, which I personally enjoy. I had also climbed the first pitch earlier in the week with another group but my second wasn't ready for it and bailed. I can't justify claiming an ascent from one pitch. Today, I lead the full route. We use a 70M rope, so I combined the second and third pitches into a single pitch.

Added: 2013-05-26

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: johnnyb336 on 2012-12-09 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Can't Get Enough

One of my favorite routes. It is just hard enough to make it interesting and easy enough to climb with no difficulties. This should be on every Stone Mountain visitor's checklist. For those expecting lots of bolts due to the close proximity of those down low, make sure you are ready for the runout because the bolts become less and less.

Added: 2013-05-15

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: johnnyb336 on 2012-12-04 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Nice, Easy Lead

Needed a little confidence booster and this is always a fairly easy route. I lead the full route and combined pitches two and three into a single pitch. We rapped back down on a single 70M.

Added: 2012-12-04

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: johnnyb336 on 2012-09-23 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Great Moderate

I was able to lead the full route with a sprained ankle that I suffered during a fall on PF Flyers last weekend. It was quite painful but not that difficult. This is another one of my favorites. I turned the second and third pitches into a single pitch. There is a little runout up high but the friction is great.

I did have a little trouble getting my head in the game since I was unfortunate enough to witness someone fall to their death the previous day. I have a trip to Laurel Knob planned in a few weeks so I forced myself to climb today to keep from losing my nerve.

Added: 2012-09-23

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: johnnyb336 on 2012-06-02 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Just As Fun As The First Time

This is a very fun route and the only difficult section is at the start. I started five or six feet left of the water groove and headed into the water groove around the third bolt, following the groove past two belays to the top. Then we made three rappels with a single 70M rope back to the tree ledge.

Added: 2012-06-05

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: johnnyb336 on 2011-04-17 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Great Lead Climb

Lead Great White Way, White Way Direct, and Yardarm today. This was the most difficult of the three. The opening moves were the most difficult but were well protected by three bolts. I found no need for any additional gear even though there was some runout between the bolts. I would highly recommend this route to anyone that can climb slab. If you can get past the first three bolts, the rest should be easy.

Added: 2011-04-17

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating PG13
Onsight Onsight ascent by: warrenw on 2009-11-21 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Heady.

I found the second pitch run out and frightening. In a fun way. I know there are worse routes at Stone. But this was my first 5.9 lead here. So yeah, scary.

Added: 2010-10-11

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: MonkeySpank on 2010-01-16 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Unique NC climbing

The water grooves and dihedrals on this mountain are what make it awesome and this route is a really classic water groove. I led the 2nd of three pitches, but the crux is the first pitch.

Added: 2010-01-17

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating R
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: lucander on 2008-03-16 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Great White Way

Unique climbing, led both pitches (linked p. 2 & 3) with Mark B. Well protected first pitch, get in a dancing rhythm and run it out on the second pitch. I still don't know how to explain slab stemming but it works. Take a rack of five draws for this "trad" route.

Added: 2008-03-19

> >|

Record your own Ascent